You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Riddle Me This! #2: SBD Earnings go to winner on payout.

in #riddle6 years ago

I'm going to give you and @hayleeng the vote. You for getting it the closest, and @hayleeng for the first to guess he was betting on a losing horse.

This is pretty much it. It's called lay betting, and he doubled his bet back on a losing horse by putting in a stake of 10 on the odds of his choice. He's not betting against another person, he's just saying what the odds are that the horse loses. You can put in a guess at the odds (anywhere from 1 - 10) and put a stake on the odds that this happens.

If he bets $50, then he's got to guess on odds of 10 with a stake of 10. If his horse loses, he gets $100 back.

If he bets $20, then he's got to guess on odds of 4 with a stake of 10. If his horse loses, he wins $40.

If he bets $30, then he's got to guess on odds of 6 with a stake of 10. If his horse loses, he wins $60. Doubles his money.

Hope that makes sense?

Sort:  

Right, this is what I meant. But since I've never actually bet on horses before I didn't know the terminology. ;) I went and looked up lay betting. I didn't even know you could make such a bet, hence my "mystery person" lol! And thanks for the riddle. I love riddles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50