This is a test of the #tags system on steemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #richmondvausa7 years ago (edited)

How do you create new categories on steemit? Not sure, that's why I'm doing an experiment.

I think all you do is make up your own tag when you post, and it becomes a category. Which is kind of amazing. I'm well aware that my tag will never show up as a category on the main steemit page, but I'm OK with that. I can always promote my favorite tag(s) myself in my description and in future posts.

I'll start with the most obvious tag that applies to me personally: my location. I do this because I would love nothing more than to connect with local steemians in my area in person to meet up and discuss steem, and just hang out!

But if I can create tags that draw people's interest I can do many fun things that will add value to steemit, by bringing like-minded people together.

Ok here we go...

Sort:  

It did work and if you click the tag you see the category at https://steemit.com/trending/richmondvausa

For me it works for about a week. Would love it if these would all show up permanently. I've been using #punker-notes (not trying to promote, just would love to get this solved) so people can read previous chapters of my serialized novel. It's not working though. Posts with that specialized tag show up for a week after they've been posted, but not the older ones. I can't have links to every chapter in each post like some novelists on steemit do as there are something like 150 chapters in my novel. I'm wondering if once you use the tag 50 times or so this method will start working.

Yes, that's cool, I use #RVA often....love it here!

I love this feature, I'm new and learning my way around. Thanks for taking a look ya'll!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79