Rhubarb...the pie plant as it is known as...

in #rhubarb7 years ago (edited)

https://pixabay.com/en/rhubarb-green-garden-2280127/

The reason is if you are looking for tartness then rhubarb is the answer. The most tart flavored vegetable that I have ever tasted anyway. Rhubarb and strawberry pie are a classic combination of sweet and tart which makes a pleasing balance to the taste buds. Sweet and sour mix well together like lemonade, salad dressings, and Chinese sauces. Rhubarb is ready to harvest around June in this area which is about the same time as strawberries. Convenient and probably a main factor in the origins of strawberry/rhubard pie. There really isn't very much ready in the garden in late spring/ early summer.

Several years ago I had some rhubarb growing and sold some of it at the local farmers market. This person is an elderly woman who loves rhubarb. Well I planted Arctic Kiwi near the rhubarb, not realizing the kiwi was a vine. It quickly took over the canopy and smothered the rhubarb out, or so I thought anyway. The caregiver for the elderly woman has asked me a couple of times if I still had any rhubarb. I told her unfortunately it had died.

The other day I decided to go check out the main raspberry and blackberry patches that I grow at another location. The raspberries are usually about the first plant to sprout new leaves in the spring so I watch them for early clues for spring. To my pleasant surprise I saw several small rhubarb leaves just emerging from dormancy. Rhubarb is a perennial plant that lives for several seasons. This particular rhubarb was planted 6 years ago.

I returned the next day with my little garden tool that digs very well in situations like these. Rhubarb has a very large woody root system that I would need to dig around so I brought the hand shovel to try to carefully dig around root ball so I could transplant it with minimal disturbance to the roots. Well that was the plan anyway lol. I dug around the root ball down to about 10 inches deep and then carefully tried to lift it out whole. The root ball split in half so I ended up with two sections to transplant. I was going to separate it anyway so it all worked out fine.

I had already decided to buy new rhubarb starts this year and hopefully have rhubarb to harvest next year for the elderly woman who makes rhubarb/strawberry pie with it. The first year it is better not to harvest any of the plant so that it can establish itself better.



Speaking of harvesting rhubarb

NEVER EVER
(and yes I am yelling) eat the leaves or roots of a rhubarb plant. They contain oxalic acid which is a toxic poison. The stems are the only edible part of rhubarb. The leaves should be removed during the harvest and never stored with the stalk.

All this talk about strawberries reminded me to snap a current picture of the strawberries. They are starting to grow well and will start blooming soon. I can hardly wait fresh strawberries picked at the peak of ripeness just can't be compared to. There is nothing from a store that comes even close. That is probably the most rewarding part of gardening, the flavors and nutrients. Vine ripened produce has a higher nutritional value than does premature harvested crops like what lands on the supermarket shelves. Plus all natural no pesticides or herbicides :)

I planted a total of 4 rhubarb plants, two new and two transplants. One of the new bulbs looked like it might be dead and not make it. I planted it anyway just to make sure. If it doesn't sprout I can get a replacement I always keep my receipts for that reason. Usually they live but occasionally I have had to get a replacement. Most big box stores and nurseries will give you a one year replacement policy. It happens sometimes but is rare.

I planted them right behind the chives near the front of the property edge. Rhubarb is an attractive plant to grow so is useful from an ornamental perspective. Edible landscaping as I like to call it lol. That is also the front edge of the orchard so a good place for perennial plants. Their large leaves do a good job of shading weeds out after they become established well. That helps keep the maintenance low plus I add leaves around the plant to: conserve moisture by shielding the ground from the sun, smother weeds, feed the soil life, add organic material to the soil which is rich in nutrients and holds water. The new roots came packed in wood shavings so I used them for mulch around the new plants. In a few weeks I will add the leaves after they grow a bit taller.



Here are the latest photos of the transplanted rhubarb. Looking great with new growth. There was a good rain right after I planted these. Actually I usually try to time all my transplanting and seed planting just before rains roll in. That helps give the transplants a good early boost and the seeds moisture to germinate. Of course I water them well at planting time but a good rain is definitely your friend. That's my rhubarb adventure for now. We will be able to track their progress as the spring progresses so stay tuned and thx for stopping by much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60778.23
ETH 2434.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55