Rhapsodist Writing Contest #6 – The Key (My entry)

in #rhapsodist7 years ago

Neither did I seek it,
nor consciously receive it,
only to wake up in the morning…
Right there in my arms
I find it clinging
and I hold it close to my heart,
a great sense of security overwhelmed me
but it’s origins I knew not.

Tell me I was sleep walking,
going on a treasure hunt
only in my sleep,
I am vulnerable to believing your convenient lie.

I caress it smoothly,
superstitiously hoping for a vision,
a visual image in the mind of who handed it to me
but alas, none creeps into this poor mind.
Could it be the key to the future?
But where’s the door to the future?
Could it be the key to unlocking my dreams?
But which dream?

Suspense!
Confusion creeps in and tempers with the mind,
Next step I know not,
Which door to unlock,
I never saw.
But wait a moment…
Maybe I need to lock not unlock.
This key I woke up and found in my hands,
It has got me thinking of possibilities,
When nothing reasonable links to it’s delivery.

#rhapsodist

Sort:  

Lovely poem! I like how it is so abstract.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52