You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Consider the power of your flag.

in #rewards7 years ago

Hi @thecryptofiend, The community can't have it both ways. I hate spending my voting power on the negative as well.

If we want the site to be decentralized, don't we all have a responsibility to keep the site clean?

Sort:  

We do but the problem is few other people seem to care which puts even more burden on those that do. Then people get exhausted and stop bothering. Some probably just leave.

It's really a nasty prisoner's dilemma. We each are incentivized to reward ourselves, whether that be by taking our time we would be flagging to curate or produce content, or more directly by vote buying. The amount you lose from flagging someone is greater than your expected gain by cleaning up the network ever-so-slightly, so only a few people spend the time to do so. Same thing with curating new/created, same problems.

Even if we were to separate voting and flagging power as I have written a post suggesting a couple months ago, we'd still be left with the problem of it failing to be a rewarding task, either internally from a mental perspective or externally from a community perspective.

Exactly and one most also consider the social cost - nobody wants to go round creating ill will and even legitimate flags can do that.

It is a major challenge. I can only think I have to use my VP to protect my investment to some degree. Those who do not see the problem, are simply not using the site.

Please post a link to your article.

PS, to put this in perspective, this post, which has highlighted a scam, and created much discussion will likely not earn what this guy got for just one of his shit posts.

Thanks for asking.

Here's a link to the article you referenced.

Unfortunately, this article "resulted in / continued a" sequence of bad blood that lead to much argument in the comments of some other users blogs and more flagging/witch-hunting later.

However, what I found much more interesting was the article I actually referenced in the above article here.

This latter article continues to be a daily problem, but I have seen no will to combat it and have decided the personal attacks and mental stress of trying to assist with it are not worthwhile. (ie, I used to flag these and post in the comments how it was an exact cut and paste with the pictures reformatted to look different from 5 days ago).

Interesting ideas and well presented.

Or at least suffer from ever increasing fed-uppedness. I know I do.

:) fed-uppedness... I have it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38