Steemit Reward Pool Rape: The System Is Not Fair

in #rewardpoolraping6 years ago (edited)

I just went through my trending feed and all I saw was post that made $100's and $1000's of dollars and all of them are from members who have a reputation of 67 + . There was not one post from an ordinary member with a reputation of under 65 and this is kind off sad to see because when I went through some of the posts and looked at who upvoted a lot of these posts, the big players are supporting each other while the rest of us struggle to make any money whatsoever.

end-rape-logo.jpg

Image Source

I came across a post from @grumpycat and I understand why the use of bots at the last hour is unacceptable. But at the same time is it acceptable for the whales to upvote each other and make each other rich, while decent content doesn't get noticed ? There are big players like @v4vapid @teamsteem, @aggroed, @canadian-coconut and even @grumpycat and many more who post once in a while but if you look at their posts you will see it brings something to the steemit community.

I really don't want to single anyone out and accuse anyone of raping the reward pool because if I do so I will get flagged and I don't want that happening to my account. Me and many other steemians work hard at creating quality content, but it doesn't get noticed. I spent 3-4 hours researching a post and I make maybe $20 if I'm lucky. I believe I'm not the only one who feels this way. Other steemians post a picture or some shitty content and they receive $1000's of dollars. How is the system fair ? Will Steemit be sustainable in the long run if this keeps happening ?

Don't get me wrong there are curators out there like @teamsteem, @canadian-coconut, @v4vapid, @luzcypher, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and the list goes on, who spent hours looking for good posts and try to make steemit a fair playground for all. Now and then you will see a post from a member who has a reputation of 55 maybe, who earn a decent amount for good quality posts.

I support the people who want steemit to be successful and fair for all.

I thought I'd through my 50 cents on this topic in the bucket as well.

@jacoknoetze

Sort:  

In the long term this behavior will not be profitable. No one is able to stop users to simply re-lunch the platform with a different blockchain some day. If too many authors feel raped, this will happen sooner or later.

To be frank, you are just saying the truth, MOST OF THE BIG BOYS here dont really post something with good content again, knowing well they will still get upvote, minnows like us will spend 3 to 4 hours doing research for a single post and ended up with only $2 dollars, like you said, you dont wanna mention names, to avoid being flagged, if its by good content, i believed that alone will encourage more people to situp, do research for good article, knowing quiet well people will upvote.
hmmmm i pray to be a whale 1 day

Steemit can simply change this by sorting the posts by their upvotes and comments rather than by earnings. As of right now, the newcomers get next to nothing in steemit. If this doesn't change, people are going to stop using this platform and the value will decrease.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64