For those of you who do not understand what the financial incentives are for flagging....

in #rewardpoolrape7 years ago



So, you want to say there is not a financial incentive to flag bad behavior on SteemIt?

This is the price of Steem, $4.13 - take your stake and multiply it by the price...  4.13xYourSteemPower

If more steem is sold than bought that reduces the price

The largest accounts have the most to lose or gain.

Some of these large accounts have several million financial incentives to handle the abuse on the blockchain.





One of my bosses used to say, some people chase pennies while dimes and quarters are falling out of their pockets.

People will copy success, and we will attract people like the ones we are currently rewarding.

@whatsup

Sort:  

If you have any opinion on this or see any flaws in my analysis let me know. I could very well be wrong. I'm still trying to think this through.

https://steemit.com/non-linear/@felixxx/more-n-2#@teamsteem/re-felixxx-more-n-2-20180216t122110302z

The posts on the front page are getting the most votes and rshares... regardless of linear or not. I get the idea that it makes self voting less profitable, but if I look at the accounts getting the most votes right now... The idea of them getting more of the reward pool is a turn off to me.

I barely understand it though. I wish I was clearer on the possible outcomes. I sure hated the non-linear reward curve when we had it.

I get the same concern about how the rewards would look but I think that's mostly due to the initial distribution.

No matter what they would look like, under the current system 100% self upvote is the best "strategy" and everyone who's not engaging in it is doing it at their own expanse and to the profit of the abusers.

I'm not sure exactly what this entails but what if everyone end up voting for themselves 10 times a day or simply self voting getting out of hand? Is this what the current system will lead too and what would prevent this? I don't know.

Is it something someone could do a fake comparison? I am thinking no, because we can't simulate who would stop self-voting?

Ha! That conversation and thinking is very enlightening to me. It's really making me think about the subject in ways I hadn't before.

Under n^2 those who hold the most SP under 1 account are the one who are advantaged as opposed to the current system where anyone engaging in 100% self-upvoting are the one advantaged.

I think that's pretty much what it comes down to. At the same time I'm not totally satisfied with my analysis. I feel like there's still something I might be missing but I'm not sure.

Steemit was recently mentioned on Joe Rogan's podcast. The Youtube version shows them browsing over the trending page. Thousands of people who watched Joe Rogan's podcast on Youtube caught a glimpse of Steemit's trending page.

Have a look at the trending page...

Are you not entertained?

(lol, yeah, it's a shit show)

i am begging you to start with your own comment section right here adn flag everyone that is an obvious spammer. please do it.

Maybe that is the first step to solve the problem. We can all give flags in Steemit, with that we have the responsibility to at least clean our own publications. There will be a little more community consensus to see which publications must be flagged.

Indeed! I have been flagging spam in my comments section for many months now and it is great, few spammers bother to join my posts after receiving their first flag.

I flag spammy comments on nearly all of my posts. At least a few of them.

So should we go flag comments by vote Bots? Are bots akin to spammers? I still don't know quite what to make about the economics of using Bots to upvote posts... where would I go for a clear breakdown of that issue?

Replying to both of you... What would be really good for SteemIt would be a full out flag war.

Freedom doesn't stop at reaction. You are free to say what you like and others are free to react. It is part of the process.

Plus we would run out a lot of snowflakes.

It might be good for the long term health of the platform.

Or.... it might result in only one or two whales emerging dominant over a sea of minnows, or result in a stalemate between two factions: a split in the chain could be a weakness.

I'm not sure anybody knows what's "best" per se. But unless the current situation is intolerable, I think avoiding all out warfare is best.

After all, war damages economies!

Running out the snowflakes and sjws would be nice, tho.

thank you. i will take on the task more once i get a vote slider bar so i don't waste all my possible upvotes.

opiniona6.jpg


:D

It's all an opinion :p

But without flagging then how are you supposed to reduce the impact of spam and shitposts?

spam and shitposts according to who? according to me?
LOL
i hope you say hell no just as the same as i would say hell no about someone elese choosing for me.

I do understand there is a reason for the flag, but misuse of it is wrong in my opinion and we all have a mute, flags should not be used for subjective reasons.

But like you said its all oppinions.

It just how whatsup and i interact, its all in fun and we both often agree to disagree.

also i love spam and shitposting, send it all my way!!!!!
:D

Eh. There is def a place for frivolity.

It's just sometimes I wanna read something a little more serious, and I guess flagging keeps those pesky shitposters in their place and away from clogging up my screen.

Kinda like how high property taxes and arbitrary zoning helps keep the riffraff out of my artificially pristine neighbourhood!

;)

thats what a mute button is for, other wise your trying to protect others from stuff they dont want to be protected from because you want to flag something you subjectivly dont like.
So by your own logic it ok for me to call all your posts and comments shitposts and flag them all?

IDK i guess i just look at it differntly, if something bothers me so much i cant handle seeing it ill mute it, no point for me to flag it because other people might be enjoying it and i dont think i have the right to choose what others can and cant see on steemit.

I was being just s teeny tiny bit sarcastic what with the nimby-metaphor and all.

Lol, couldn't you tell?

I personally ignore what I don't like. I don't believe I've flagged... maybe once...

The thing about flagging is it can sort hamfisredly counteract up voting if for some reason you want to hit the dislike button.

True spam is not such an issue because I believe the network limits your bandwidth based on your steak, so things like floods and DDOS is very very hard to pull off.

Dan Larimer did an interview on Ivan on Tech's YouTube podcast that's very interesting and it talks about some of the technical aspects of this.

I hate scanners... There must be a way to get rid of them...

Close the blinds and turn the microwave on.

That should stop the scanners!

You are hilarious.

There is a lot of sense in whatever you are saying here..

That saying is so true! I'm gonna adopt it too thanks :) Many people are chasing pennies while dimes and quarters are falling out of their pockets.

Good stuff @whatsup! I have given you a follow.

You are so right! I have started aggressively flashing spammers lately. We all have a lot of time and some money invested here!

Thanks @whatsup for sharing this post with all of us.

Well , i have been on this Platform from a long time now and this all started with the up trend in the sbd prices people just got mad seeing the opportunity of making 10X OR simply 5X even now.

Some used it to benefit the platform for long run by powering up or helping or giving delegations away but many of that percentage people just Spammed the hell out of here.

Have seen steem prices go lower as $0.88 to today recently $4.13 but good is that now it has form a new lower breakdown level which will sustain for a long time the community has to come up with some major steps like up voting our own comments or taking delegations just to upvote ourself i have seen many people doing this but it does not or will create a impact even if i tell with evidence

Thanks a lot again for sharing this

Have a great day ahead.

Cheers.  

This post has received a 6.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @whatsup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81