My Revolutionist Origins

It begins with a slightly rebellious kid who grew up in the 90’s. An era where “Got Milk?”, “…we got OJ, purple stuff, Sunny D!”, and “…part of this complete breakfast” became slogans of the All-American diet. Like most Americans, I grew up watching television. It was the cheapest nanny for my poor single mother, often forced to work two jobs just to support the family which varied in size and place depending on the year. Calvin n Hobbes on Cereal.JPG
Along with television, I grew up with religion and an overly simplified view of how the world worked. “Truth” like candy, was a cheap commodity that I easily digested from anyone who claimed to have it; religious leaders, school teachers and of course my mother. I was told my entire life that I was special and would do great things. That somehow my mere existence would be a beacon to society and success would inevitably follow. I was spoon-fed physically, spiritually and mentally the garbage of a dystopian culture and took it at face value without ever questioning the why. Facts were entirely subjective from the ignorant and somewhat forced points of view that surrounded me, making the fiction I was living in completely believable.

Karl Marx said, "Religion is the opiate of the masses" and I specifically remember feeling the first seed of doubt being planted when I read that quote in a philosophy class in college. Throughout the years, I've realized there are many other institutions/distractions that fall under the opiate category as well. Think of sports, for example. People live and breathe sports from season to season in a seemingly never ending cycle. There's nothing wrong with it per se, but there is no disputing that it's a distraction made to generate a lot of revenue from its members while providing little of value in return; the very definition of religion.

Being part of the American school system I learned to be a consumer and an employee. Food stamps were the currency of my childhood, providing the worst possible nutrition while concurrently shaping my future eating habits. I specifically recall the food pyramid poster, proudly on display in my middle school cafeteria. 1992 Food Pyramid_USDA.JPG
Six to eleven servings of refined grains were considered the cornerstone of a healthy diet.

My future employee options of nine to five, factory or minimum wage worker were completely dissonant from what I believed of myself. How could I become this great person I was expected to be when I was part of a system that profits from regurgitating the expected average of humanity? What have I gained since the beginning of my life that has proven valuable? The honest answer: Not much.

I feel like I've tried and failed so many times, I'm not exactly sure what keeps me going except for the thought of hopefully having enough crypto invested, earned or donated to start a restaurant with my food ideas and making it so unique and interesting that it awakens something in enough people to make a difference world-wide. I've been working on recipes for several years now and continually try to improve them. They're mostly based on foods I used to eat but now I make with a set of ingredients that have purpose and are rich in health properties.

I believe financial and physical health go hand-in-hand and see them as the yin and yang of a healthy and productive society. Cryptocurrency and balanced nutrition with exercise should be the base of every education system but that's not the case nor will it be due to special interests with deep pockets. Although at times it feels we're just cogs in a giant wheel directed by the wealthy few or even a huge game of Sim City controlled by a higher form of intelligence, the question is why even bother worrying about it? What I can do is improve my situation and inspire others to do the same through the research I've done and continue to do in food and cryptocurrency.

Stay tuned!

Sort:  

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85