The Haunting of Hill House (TV show): Pretty dern awesome so far

in #reviews6 years ago

I started to watch this because I had accidentally read somewhere that Elliot from E.T. ( Henry Thomas) is in a new Netflix series and this is it. I had read it is pretty scary and then was delighted to find out that there are many episodes so this could take a while :)

netflix-hill-house.png

I have only watched the first 3 episodes so if you have seen the entire thing I would appreciate it if you didn't spoil it for me or anyone else. That wouldn't be very nice.

So basically the story is about a rather eccentric family that moves into this place called Hill House and has some rather scary things happen to them via nightmares. These things lead us to believe that the house is haunted and well, so would the title of the series. The story is told in a "now and then" type fashion in that it keeps skipping from what I presume is present day back to various periods in the past. You really need to stay on your toes or you end up quite confused.

screen-shot-2018-09-19-at-8-16-34-am.png

This house is pretty spooky and at least a reason is given for why they continue to live in such a place and that is because their family is in the business of buying, improving, and re-selling houses for a profit. The kids see ghosts and what not but it isn't entirely clear if the things they see are real or just some sort of psychological trauma at the behest of their father - who all the kids seem to have some sort of long-standing and relatively unexplained (after 3 episodes) angst towards.

11-things-you-probably-didn-t-know-about-the-haunting-of-hill-house.jpg

I don't know enough about what is going on to make a guess and I don't want to be told anyway. There are lots of episodes left and so far I am really digging this. I enjoy the way that the director is focusing on having a real story here that we piece together slowly and NOT in a chronological fashion. The episodes (at least 1-3) are told through primarily the perspective of each of the 7 members of the family (I presume this will continue... at least i hope so because I am digging it so far.) Also, although technically a horror series, it isn't relying very heavily on jump-scares and instead relies more often on creeping dread (if that makes any sense.)

HILL-HOUSE-LUKE.png

I refer to the dread associated with situations such as a little boy getting trapped in a dumbwaiter with a flashlight on a floor of the house that no one has ever been to and then thinking he sees something moving right before his flashlight starts failing. That sort of scary.

we only watched 3 episodes and we really really really wanted to watch more but it was too late. It took a lot of willpower to not continue to binge. Anyway, if you are not watching this series and you can, well, you should. So far I am hooked like Luke the character in the show.


It's a bit early for this but i will review what i think up to this point

9 / 10

Sort:  

Is this a recent series, or an 80s one, because he still looks like a lad
Pretty much the same as I remember from the film, whereas I expected to see a 40 year old
Look at McCauley Culkin to see the way life seems to treat child stars
Ugh

as far as i know it has been out less than a month. Since there is meant to be so much time that has passed between the various segments of the show i think that the Elliot's character either gained a lot of weight to film the "now" portions of the show or they CGI'd him a bit for the "20 years ago" ones. Not sure, don't want to read the wiki in case there are spoilers.

The fact that you gave her that score motivates me to see her. You can see that there is excellent editing, special effects and music. This last element is very important when making horror movies. When you reviewed The Others, I was telling you how infallible it is to put children in horror movies. That's taking horror to the max. I will follow your advice. Thank you

Wow.. 9/10??!! After just 3 episodes? Okay. Looks like this is a winner. My wife is not a fan of horror or suspense but I’ll save it for my bachelor nights.

well i might feel differently after i have seen them all. I like the non-linear storytelling and the fact that your perspective on the events changes a LOT depending on who the story is primarily focusing on that particular episode. For example, right now i know extremely little about one character other than the fact that in the present day he has a terrible drug problem and as a kid he had thick glasses and was cute and shy.

Really looking forward to seeing the story from his perspective.

Yes, that makes sense after only having seen a few episodes. Good luck with it!

"It took a lot of willpower to not continue to binge."
9/10
Great, I have to watch this very soon!

I have never watched a show that is perfectly written, cast, directed, and executed. This one will always be my favorite series of all time with companies like Game of Thrones, Orange is the New Black, and Black Mirror.

Thank you, every single person involved in the making of this phenomenal series, which I want to binge-watch and also don't want to finish it without taking the time to truly appreciate it!

Man my brother and @parabyte have been slacking off gaming at night lately because they have been sucked into this. Sounds like it is pretty awesome and I am going to have to check it out for sure.

9/10? Damn that is high praise and I am definitely going to take your advice and see what the hype is about.

Thanks!

The fact above after expectation thou gave her on after expectation ranking motivates me within pursuance on see her. You be able consult so in to that amount place is worthwhile editing, exclusive effects below music. This last thing is altogether integral so construction alarm movies. When you reviewed The Others, I used to be as soon as efficient ye whether correct as is below assemble youngsters of awe movies. That's receiving alarm afterward the max

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah awesome man I’m happy to see you have given this ansuper high score as I can’t wait to start watching this!

I’ve been lookin for a great horror series since “the exorcist” which I highly recommend and since American horror story sadly fizzled out for me after the first 2-3 seasons. However roanoak niggtmare (season 6 I think) was good. Did you watch either of these?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12