Bud not Buddy

in #reviews6 years ago (edited)

“Bud not Buddy” is a book I read last year. It’s about a 12-year-old African boy named Bud who has been in about 11 different foster homes after his mom died when he was 6 years old. The last home he was in gave him no option but to run away to look for his long-lost father. Thankfully his mother left him a few clues to where he might be. The journey is not gonna be easy and he will need some assistance. This book takes place in the times where black people and white people were “at war”. A little black disgrace, a runaway, a criminal, these are the words some people have called him throughout the book, but the real words they should be using are: brave, smart, adventurous etc.

I loved the book (keeping in mind that I’m not a big reader and I’m sooo picky) because it showed me how people don’t need someone to tell them who they are and how they feel to continue. It taught me that if you’re dedicated enough, getting where you want to go or doing what you want to do is easier. To succeed, you need to believe in yourself and your capabilities. What matters is how you feel, not how the people around you feel.

The book is inspirational but… there are a few flaws. One of them is having a somewhat important character in the beginning then never hear their name again. It has been a year so I don’t remember all the flaws.

But to conclude, Bud not buddy was an amazing book.

Since no one got the last riddle, the answer is to take half of each pill.

Now here's the new riddle: I have 6 arms, 3 feet and 7 heads, what am I?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15