Disassemble the HP Series LTO-6 Tape Drive

in #review08225 years ago

Disassemble the HP Series LTO-6 Tape Drive

A few days ago, I was blind to the Thunderbolt 2 case on eBay.

The item arrived last Saturday (8/3).

For reference, the description was like this at the time of purchase.

** single line summary

The case is intact and the tape drive is torn and cleaned, but operation is not guaranteed. Use it for parts.

The top is the tape drive that came with the case, the bottom is my guy.

The part marked with red is the tape tray (?), But it was in the position when the tape was inserted in the top, so the tape could not be inserted.

I looked for a video to prepare for this situation on YouTube.

As the video shows, I changed the position of the tray normally and inserted the tape, but the tape came in but it was not recognized.

Still, the motherboard was fine and I was able to see the existing logs on this tape drive.

I think the head is dead.

Anyway, I decided to disassemble it.

braided. First decomposition complete.

If you only have one star driver, anyone can come here by referring to the link below.

See: http://sbfmdrv.blogspot.com/2018/11/disassembling-and-cleaning-lto-tape.html

However, the equipment listed on the link is the LTO-5, the LTO-6.

The head looks a little different, so I needed a nut driver.

It's a 5.5mm nut screwdriver, but my old one wasn't in that hole.

I unfortunately handed down the thin German screwdriver and disassembled it.

(It's no secret that it took a long time to get a German nut driver.)

Head disassembly complete.

Maybe it's the first LTO-6 (HP) head photo on the Korean web.

He tried to resurrect using BW-100 (contact rejuvenation), but he didn't survive.

The bottom line is that I bought two Thunderbolt cases, 943,961 won. is. ㅠㅠ

In addition, after disassembling the HP series of LTO-6 drives, securing a good motherboard and looking at the internal structure, I think I have gained enough experience to replace parts if the HP series of LTO-6 drives fails. In other words, about 900,000 won of money is not in vain.

Note 1: It was a small income to find this HP tape drive a good fit for the IBM tape drive case.

This case often comes up on eBay. On the other hand, the case used for HP is very hard to see.

In the early days of my tape drive, I couldn't decide if I could buy this case, so I bought another private case.

Note 2. I didn't even touch the Thunderbolt 2 case that was my main purpose. [...]

The seller is doing well, and it looks obvious inside, so I'm going to use the old drive on my Mac soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97