Whisky review Arran amarone cask finish

in #review3 years ago

To finish off the weekend, a whisky.

Some while ago, I received a bottle of Arran Amarone cask finish. It is a whisky at 50 ABV, which I really like, not too strong (stronger and it very quickly numbs the tongue), yet not watery either, and full of flavour

The Amarone cask imparts a reddish colour and a sweetish aroma and flavour to the whisky.

20210904_174427.jpg

I know from experience that I'm not a bog fan of wine cask aged whiskies (I do not mind sherry aged, and am a great fan of Port aged, but regular wine-cask aged is not "my cup of tea.

i think that this is a good whisky, if you are a fan of this sweetish style. It is not really for me, so I rarely open it, unless when I'm in the mood for it. When I am in the mood for this experience however, it is always a delicious experience.

(I find that there is a huge range of flavours within whisky, and early on, I mostly bought "my preferred style", meanign that quickly I found myself with about 10 similar, interchangeable whiskies. EVer since I realised this (and mostly since I noticed that 3 bottles I owned where almost identical), that I have started to branch out. I still have bottles in "my preferred style", and they often make it to the dram standing in front of me, but I am happy to have a broader selection, and be able to choose between a range of ABV's, a range of cask styles, and a range of levels of peatedness (including unpeated)

Sort:  

You got a 21.32% upvote from @steemegg

Send 0.3 to recieve a ~0.6 steem upvote

If you love @steemegg consider delegating steempower to help us keep the bot going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80