Bohemian Rhapsody (2018)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #review4 years ago

I'll be honest, I'm wasn't a Queen fan aside from singing along when a song comes on the radio. They were ahead of my time, and if you asked me to name a member of Queen, I wouldn't have been able to.

So I deeply appreciate this movie for making me love this band of misfits.

Before writing this review I wanted to see how accurate the biopic was, and google has informed me it got a lot wrong.

The timeline in which they released songs was off, sometimes by years. It showed them performing a song on a tour that took place before it was written, and putting another song on an album when it had been released years prior. I'll assume that's because they chose the order that would make the movie more appealing. Dates aren't that important, so it's forgivable.

But they also took it upon themselves to make the movie PG-13 when Mercury did not live a PG-13 life. In fact, some Mercury fans think he would have been opposed to them watering down his life like that. I understand wanting to make the movie more accessible for everyone, but not at that cost. It went against what they stood for, so for that, it's not so forgivable.

Still, with all that they got wrong, it appears fans did like the movie and would watch it again. Sure, it could have been done better, but you still get to sit there and watch Queen in all their glory for 2 hours - who could complain?

Queen, and more specifically Freddie Mercury, broke through so many social barriers, both in their music and lifestyle. They challenged the status quo, broke down binaries, behaved as 'extra' as they wanted, and the world loved them for it.

So please, watch this movie, download some Queen albums, and be free.

000.jpg

feel free to discuss with me below!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66