Book Review: The Proposition by Katie Ashley

in #review6 years ago

Contemporary romance novels continue to be some of the most popular books sold and as a romance author myself, I am an avid reader of the genre. I couldn't begin to count just how many of these books I've read over the years. So I thought it might be fun to talk about a few of them.

Today we'll be talking about The Proposition by Katie Ashley. This is the first book in her two book series. The author later came back a few years later and added a 3rd, but originally it was just the two books in the series.

The Proposition.jpg

I hate books with cliffhangers. I'm one of those people with OCD that even if the first book was horrible I have to know how it ends, so I'm stuck buying the next one in the series.

Luckily for me, however, this story wasn't too bad. The characters were well written and likable. Emma is much sweeter than Aiden, your stereotypical alpha male -- but still, he has some redeemable qualities.

On the bad sad, the book was clearly self-published and lacked editing. It claims to be a New York Times Best Seller" and while I have never known the New York Times to include self-published books on their list, I checked into it and it looks like back in 2012, the book really did make the list.

  • #27 E-book Sales Week of December 2, 2012
  • #15 E-book Sales Week of December 9th, 2012
  • #21 Combined E-Book and Hardcover Sales Week of December 9th, 2012
  • #27 Ebook Sales December 16th, 2012

This former high school English teacher wrote a decent enough story but she didn't spend a lot of time with the small details, like editing.

You'll find more than a few errors in this 314 novel.

The story revolves around Emma who wants to have a baby. Yes, it's a romance novel so you can guess how it was going to end. But it's everything in between that make up your mind if it's a good story or not. Does it draw you in? Do you feel emotions when things happen to the characters? Do you want to find out what happens next? The answer for me at least, to all of those questions was yes.

So while not the best book I ever read, still it wasn't bad. So if you have nothing else to do on a Sunday afternoon, might I suggest you check out The Proposition, after all, we all need a little more love in our life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59