Review | Ready Player One

in #review6 years ago (edited)

Ready Player One

Hi everyone! I'm Thomas and I'm going to talk about the movie "Ready Player One" by Steven Spielberg.

First of all, we must know what the movie is about:

Sinopsis:

When the creator of a virtual reality world called the OASIS dies, he releases a video in which he challenges all OASIS users to find his Easter Egg, which will give the finder his fortune.

Before going into details, for those who don't know, this film is based on a book, which I didn't read (I have it pending), and well, maybe they wanted to know, I don't know. I LOVE THIS MOVIE! of course, objectively it's far from perfect, but it feels great to be a film totally based on pop culture. Of course, in my opinion, the film becomes a little difficult to understand at times, not because of its complexity, but because of what it is based on. The film is based entirely on popular culture, right, so it assumes that since you enter that you are totally linked to this culture, it becomes tedious in the end because you don't understand some references or little easter eggs, of which the film is full, even a nerd would find it hard to understand some references, but, hey, this is THE film for nerds! And go back to 2018 so that being a nerd looks good.

What I did like it.

A film as many of you know is divided into three acts. Now, although the first act for me was quite different from the others, I must first talk about what I like, because the second and third acts are great! Although I'll talk more about references later on, I like the way the film starts to take control of its history and stops being a crossover of all the franchises to impress us. They use the references as scenarios or tools, which Spielberg takes advantage of very well and stops simply saturating us with references.

Of course it's so cool to see the Iron Giant fighting hand-to-hand with Halo's character, but I really wanted more than that, and as I say to you, I got it from this act. It stops being a showcase of references to show us the adventure that the protagonists fulfill.

Now, as a middle ground, I have to talk about the characters. Actually, if you notice the protagonist Wade is not bad, only that the guy is a blank mold. Let me explain, Wade is a character trapped in the events of the film, but he alone has nothing to contribute, any other character could have replaced his place and they only use him as a "means" for us to have an identification within the film. And on the other hand, the other characters only use him as extras, they only give us a little comment about their past sometimes, but they are still blank characters.

Of course, characters that I can really say wow, are Art3mis and Sorrento. Art3mis' character is ironically the character with whom we spend the most time in real life, we see Olivia's performance, we see real moments of sadness and pain. Which is not the case with Wade, whom I see as just another avatar. Ah and, Aech, the character surprised me, he could easily have been the best friend cliché but ironically, without a really important development, he highlights.

And, uh, it's another thing when we talk about the villain. This is one of the films where you expect any gliché for the villain, just as an interference for the adventure, but Mendelsohn (is that how write it?) takes it further, he is no longer the executive who in the end only wants more money to give us something more. We spent enough time with him to understand his ambition and the reason why he does it, and we even started to feel it personal, which surprises me quite a bit (Ah and Halliday, in spite of everything, he is one of the most interesting characters in my opinion, he would have been a fan-service if he had played it himself, Spielberg, haha).

What I didn't like it.

Let's start with what I said before the theme of the first act. Make no mistake, no phase is really wrong, but with regard to the other two acts, the first is the worst. Let me explain, the film begins with this super epic race, without music, beautiful action and great effects. And we're already seeing more or less why the film is directed. And it is that in this act so many references suffocates the film. I heard that there are a lot fewer references in the film than in the book, but it still boils down to just a few of these, and it's like "Hey, look at this reference""Oh, do you like this reference""R E F E R E N C E", which is not the case in the next two, where there are still references, but this time instead of relying entirely on them, they are going down the path of a means of attraction for the viewer.

Another thing that more than anything else that I didn't like was that, despite how well built OASIS is, the real world isn't really that well done. Let me explain, they show the world as if the SECOND largest company in the world had control over everything. As if IOI had total control over Columbus, they can kidnap people, break the law as if the law didn't touch them, to extreme levels already. And I don't think that's how the world works, I believe.

At the end of the day, Spielberg like almost always brings us a super epic film, which gives you enough to watch up to 5 times (of which I've already seen 3 haha). And instead of making a film that looks like a simple sea of references with the naked eye, in the middle of the film, you fall even more in love with it and you get a nostalgic effect. And it really gives us more than a few simple references and gives us a great adventure to frame with action and surprising effects.

Calification: 8.6/10

I hope you like this review. If you do, remember vote and follow me, thanks. Bye!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Thomas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51