You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review & Top Quotes: Gnomon by Nick Harkaway

in #review6 years ago

Not yet reading it, but I have Infinite Jest checked out from the library. That passage about death was beautiful. It reminded me a little bit of a passage in read in one the LPQ books - I think The Price of Spring.

"We’re all born to die… Every love ends in parting or death. Every nation ends and every empire. Every baby born was going to die, given enough time. If being fated for destruction were enough to take the joy out of things, we’d slaughter children fresh from the womb. But we don’t. We wrap them in warm cloth, and we sing to them and feed them milk as if it might all go on forever."

Sort:  

@terry93d, wow! Now we're dueling with great quotes about mortality! This one is equally beautiful.

Thanks a ton for sharing this passage, I feel like I'm beginning to become a quote junkie with all those literary gems that are out there.

Make sure you hit me up when you start reading Infinite Jest! Enjoy it my friend!!

I definitely will, thank you! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.35
ETH 3900.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63