Game Reviews - #15 - South Park: The Fractured But Whole.

in #review5 years ago

A game that is funny as hell, leaving your ribs hurting, but can get a little boring at times.

SouthParkTheFracturedButWhole_Review_01.jpg

The Fractured But Whole is a continuation of the previous game, the stick of truth. Utilizing many of the same features and mechanics. I have not played any south park game since the 1998 game of the same name as the series. However I am a huge fan of the TV show and that inner 16 year old still appreciates fart jokes and the adult humour that comes with it. That same humour is carried on into the game and at times, has me laughing my arse off.
Just like any other review, I have spent time playing this game while streaming it live for you all to see for yourselves. Just be warned, there are adult themes and innuendos you may find offensive. These are not my personal beliefs, but simply elements which are found in the game.

Narrative.

  • As said, this title is a continuation of sorts from the last game, The Stick of Truth. But only after a few moments, the narrative is changed entirely from a game best known for a fantasy theme, to a superhero / sci-fi one.
    Cartman as his alter ego, the 'Coon' (dressed like a racoon) travels back in time to gather his team of super heroes in order to find a missing cat. There is a $100 reward in it for them if they do find the missing cat, which Cartman believes will help towards his super hero teams franchise. To add some tension to this, a rival super hero franchise is also looking for the cat.

  • The character you create infiltrates the Coon's secret hideout which is located in his mom's basement. You are then recruited into his team. Here you have the option to choose what type of superhero you wish to be. I opted for one with fire being my main power. I found this especially funny during the battle that takes place while the Coon narrates the back story. My special power was very explosive. I breathed in a fire ball and the camera follows it through the body until it reached the arse, then with the camera back to normal, I let out a overly powerful fire fart that beat my opponents. This is just one superhero type available. The back story Cartman gives you makes no sense but is funny all the same. I don't want to tell you, but trust me when I say this.... ''you will laugh your fucking arse off''.

  • As you progress through the game, the narrative intensifies, gets more complex and funny, while there are also small / mini stores for you to explore, like being trapped in a back room with two priests, or listening in on other peoples conversations out in the street or in doors, each one just as funny as the last. Some of them make no sense, but is all part of what makes South Park as funny as it is.

  • So far I am about 6 hours into the game, and I have learned that a detective with the police is evolved with a conspiracy involving the missing cat. I don't want to say much more than that because it may spoil the game. All you need to know that the deeper into the story you get, the more sore your ribs will be from laughing.

1.PNG

Visuals.

  • When compared to other titles, the visuals of this game are rather simplistic, and that is for one very good reason, it is supposed to imitate the TV show, which this game does seamlessly. You almost get a sense that you are playing an interactive episode of the TV show, which is exactly how you are meant to feel. The very first pilot episode of South Park was made using stop capture and simple cardboard cut outs. (You can take a look at that very episode HERE). This unaired pilot, and the aired one are the only two episodes that were filmed using this technique, because the creators had limited funds. Once the show was picked up by a broadcast channel, they liked the style so much, they recreated it all digitally thereafter. This is how the show got its very unique look, and why it has never really evolved. This game sticks to that same method which undoubtedly gives the show/game its unique character. It may deal with some serious issues and is an equal opportunity discrimination media, visually, because it is basic, lets you know that it is all in good fun.

  • Beyond the simple animations and characters, the developers have faithfully recreated the entire town of South Park. From the city hall and church, to big gay Al's house and all the other characters houses.

  • While playing the game, there are only a few aspects that I didn't really like, such as how the camera doesn't follow you when you move further up the screen, making it slightly more difficult to see where you are going, and how because of the flat 2D layout, it can be hard to judge where you are going when trying to access a certain area or path. I suppose that is just the nature of the platform and can not be overly helped. It doesn't hinder the game, but it doesn't help it either.

  • All in all, the game looks and feels very much like the TV show on which it is based, from the characters, the town and the animations used. You couldn't ask for a better representation. The devs have out done themselves.

2.PNG

Gameplay.

  • Once you get used to how to control your character and the peculiar button layout the game works very well. The turn based fights that are very reminiscent of that found from the Final Fantasy franchise, are fast paced and amusing to play. From the ridiculous special powers, to the mini stories within the fights. For example, I had to defeat Stan's dad twice. First battle was because he was too drunk to drive and Captain Diabetes took his car keys. Second time round, he had moved onto red wine and had his pants around his ankles, still looking for his car keys, until he is defeated and sleeps where he fell. And it is as ridiculous as it sounds. But the pace in which the battles play out are very well balanced.

  • The User interface is basically a Smart Phone with apps. Each app has its own unique mechanic. One acts as social media that lets you know about the people who are following you. Another lets you control your power ups, then you have costumes, powers and more. Because we are so use to dealing with phones on a daily basis, this UI is very easy to navigate and get used to. Something that I have only briefly seen in other games, GTA among them.

  • The games pace does slow significantly when you are travelling to other locations or are searching the town for specific bits such as posters and billboards. There is the odd thing that makes you laugh such as peoples conversations, or the odd landmark you remember from the show, but when you look at the high pace the games cut scenes and battles have, to go from that to something that is merely walking from one place to another, it is a little boring. The game does try to compensate for this by having fast travel posts dotted about the town, but even so, it is a little annoying all the same.

  • Over all the gameplay is almost exactly how I would expect life to be like in South Park. Sure there are only a limited amount of aspects and mechanics I don't appreciate, but the rest of the game more than makes up where it falls short of expectations.

4.PNG

Conclusion

  • If you ever wondered what a game based on the TV show would be like, this is it. While the 1998 game was awesome, it was a 3D game and didn't capture the town as it should have been. This is 20 years later and has heavily used the unique art style the TV show is best known for. Faithfully recreating almost everything that can be found in the TV Show.
    The gameplay does lack in areas but the hilarity of the rest of the game is just fucking awesome.

8.5/10

  • It is a game I would recommend to anyone who loves adult based humour, or likes taking serious subjects, or even controversial ones, turn them on there heads and make fun out of them. Because that is all you will find in this game. However, if you are easily offended, I don't think this game is for you.

Thanks for reading

Stu @TechMojo


Join the chatTechMojo Discord Channel
Follow usTechMojo Dlive Channel
Like usTechMojo Facebook Page
Follow usTechMojo Twitter

@TechMojo Recommended Blogs you should follow.


@Deeviras@OPGaming@SteemGC
@gamesociety@XR-HammerGaming@C0ff33a
@Enjar@NegativeSpace

If you want to apper here, then contact us via our Discord Channel!




Promote Your Work On TechMojo's Discord Channel HERE

My Live Stream can be found at Dlive.tv/TechMojo

Sort:  

I'll watch the gameplay videos later. I've heard about this game but never took it seriously. I knew it was going to be funny. I still enjoy the show after all these years. I'll take your word on the backstory being funny :D

I'm on the fence about this one... I played the first South Park "game"... it was tolerable, but it wasn't really a great game...

I think I'll wait for a steep discount on this before picking it up. Although, I see it is on the Switch, so maybe it is a good train/bus long distance game.

howdy there techmojo! really enjoyed your review of this game, I didn't know it existed but I know the tv show of course! lol. What a bunch of hilarious writers they have, so this game has to be hilarious also like you said. The premise of the game, finding a cat, is funny just to start with.

This is a fine review with enough detail to let everyone know exactly what it's like so you did a great job. Do you review games regularly or just this one because you started playing it?

8.5 is a very good score. This is my kind of game. Hilarious and you're laughing all the time. Superpower to let a powerful fire farts to beat your opponents? :D I would love to know what are the other superpowers. They must be as disgusting as this one :D

I loved South Park when it was on TV for the first time. I'm sure a lot of jokes were lost as it was translated to Slovak but anyway.. my dad hated me watching that as he found it too offensive so I had to record it and watch it when he was not at home :D he was not so technical so he never realized that I was watching it anyway :D

Thank you for sharing your review. To be honest I didn't know about this game but I will ask my brother to get it as I'm sure he will love it :)

Have a nice day!

you're welcome dude.

Thank you for this review, while reading your post, I thought that it is may be an intension of Game industry to involve young generation into gaming community, as it sounds and looks funny and quite entertaining too. You know how kids quite are interested in such things, when my son was a baby his favorite toy was remote control because of all the fancy button that could change the channels :)

yep.. this game reminds me a lot of my youth. now touching 35, it makes me laugh just as much.

I love South Park and I did not know there were video games with those characters, I think I'll become addicted to them hahaha, I'll see gameplays first before trying to play. Thank you for your review and explanation of the game, I am not a very good player but thanks to you I will have a notion when playing.

no worries.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

I'm hoping I can find a Black Friday deal on this game. I'm a big South Park fan and played quite a bit of Stick of Truth, but being able to play on the Switch would be a huge benefit to me, since I could get in 5 minutes here and there or play a bit before bed.

Hi techmojo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24