Mini product review

in #review6 years ago

Keyboard.jpg

I have a few devices I use for mostly art and I often had to switch between them for various reasons while working. I always hated switching keyboards when going from PC to Wacom CIntiq companion and most recently IPad. I also wanted something small enough to be mobile when taking the Cintiq or IPad somewhere.

Did some searching and came across the Logitech k380 Bluetooth multi-device keyboard and decided to purchase. It is around 30 dollars if i remember correctly and it can toggle between 3 devices so I figured why not. At a little under 11 inch’s wide its also very portable. It does have a little weight to it being about 15 ounces but nothing I would consider heavy. It feels good to type on and is a full keyboard that switches between devices with the press of a button. I enjoy it every time I want to switch! Feels good to type on and tucks away easy when you’re on the go.

I strongly suggest it if you have multiple devices you are always switching through or even need something portable. I also think it makes good use of its batteries because after a month I havent changed them so should be pretty good.

I came across a regular product review and am going to include it here just because its more detailed with hard numbers etc.

Sort:  

JPEG_20180702_195812.jpg
I absolutely love it. It works great when I am chillin' and STEEMing. Way better than the onboard keyboard. I am typing this comment with mine.

Ha pretty funny that with the small following I have someone actually has the keyboard. Glad I wasn’t alone in liking it :)

I was eyeing one of these off when I was contemplating mobile setups, useful to know that they are actually good for if I ever get around to doing one of the mobile setups I'm dreaming about :D

I've been thinking this exact same model to pair with my smartphone so that I could write better on the go, but I think I'm not going to purchase it yet until I've confirmed the need or want for it on practice.

I did not know about it at the time but they have a backlit one that goes for around double the cost though. But typing in the dark can sometimes be a pain without it.

That's kinda cool @steemitadventure... hadn't really thought about it, but having an external keyboard for the iPad holds a certain appeal as I sometimes use it for note taking, and typing on a screen is somewhat of a pain in the you-know-what.

Thanks for the tip.

Yea it works out well and you can even hook up to phone too, just really nice to be able to use it on whatever you want and not have to switch plugs etc.

You're the person to ask about the Cintuiq companion. I have a wacom but the sort you have to plug into your computer. I love it, it feels so real to draw and paint and it is even pretty good and handling watercolours etc. But I would LOVE to get the stand alone companion that I could take anywhere. Do you like it? Do you also use a larger version hooked to a computer? Sorry so many questions, but I have been waiting for the price to come down on them before considering one.

Happy to answer :) I really enjoy my companion 2, which I don’t think they sell any more they now have the Mobile Pro, pretty much same thing but slightly different.

The first thing I would say is the thing you may miss is screen size. I dont know what size you work but its i think the biggest mobile one now is 16 inch’s? Which may be good for you but you do notice it when you are zoomed way in etc. I want one that is like 42 inch’s and mobile lol the only other “negative” I would say is its sort of heavy since its full PC. So like you cant really just hold it in one hand and use other to draw.

Now thing Is I love it cause it’s full PC and runs programs I need etc, so if I am going out of town for week I just take it and I am all set. Full PC with all my programs, I love it and at this point cant imagine not owning it.

Recently I just purchased an IPad Pro 12 inch and have been using procreate, long story as to why i had to buy it but the thing is it works really well for drawing although it doesn’t have same feel when you touch pen to screen like a cintiq. The IPad Pro feels slick like pen is sliding not “toothy” like cintiq. But thing is its super light and If i just want to sit on couch and draw I use that because cintiq is too heavy to hold in one hand and I really like that about it,it’s also prolly 1/3 the price. The issue is like you cant put Corel painter on an IPAD pro so you dont get to use “your” software.

Currently I do not use the bigger cintiq hooked to puter although I will end up getting a big one just cause I want the screen space when I am sitting and drawing.

I guess it depends on how you wanted to use the companion, if it is to sit on couch and draw it my not be best option. But if its because you sometimes go out of town for week and want a full PC with all your stuff its amazing option.

Feel free to ask more questions because I wish I had someone to ask when I was deciding all this and I am happy to help.

11 inch is pretty nifty. I mean this is almost smaller than my laptops keyboard. Not to mention the handling of three devices together............... I have never used a Bluetooth keyboard before. So this can be switched between three devices without disconnecting the Bluetooth or the hardware, right?

Yup the 3 yellow buttons in pic are for the 3 devices, you just hit the button you paired to device and it switches.

Ohh that's so good you can toogle between smartphone and other devices with such ease.
Although for me it's a bit too heavy for me.

You got a 31.21% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @steemitadventure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82