Thinking About Buying An Inflatable Hammock?

in #review6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180311_150500.jpg
The Inflatable X-Lounger was @AustinHopper's birthday gift to me last year, because I have a habit of sunbathing at every opportunity and using whatever towel, blanket or yoga mat I can find. The best thing about a hammock is that you're up off the ground, away from a majority of the bugs and pointy pinecones that nature has to offer. The problem with a conventional hammock is that you need not one-- but two trees, and they have to be just far enough from each other without being too far...you get it.

Spring has made its way here to Ellensburg, Washington and I couldn't resist the sunshine. The Irene Rinehart Riverfront Park is just a few minutes from my apartment by bike, so I grabbed a book, and my conveniently compact inflatable hammock, and headed out after lunch today.

So the X-Lounger is basically a ripstop nylon wind bag. All folded up, it's the size of a typical drawstring bag and can easily fit into a hiking pack or backpack.

71n4mqrbe+L._SL1500_.jpg

Pros:

  • Compact & lightweight. Easy to bring along on a bike ride or hike.
  • Lounging not sitting. The length of the lounger allows you to lay back, kick your feet up and truly recline.
  • You don't have to have a clunky, awkward pump to fill it up.
  • There are pockets on the sides for your phone, book, keys.
  • It really curls up around you when you lay in it, kind of like a big hug.
  • You can use it in water! (Lakes and ponds, definitely not a river.)

Cons:

  • To inflate it, you have to like...run with it over your head. And if it's not a windy day, it's harder than the cute info graphic above makes it out to be. So you have to be prepared to look very silly in front of everyone at the park.
  • I never carry the little grounding spikes with me, so if it's windy and I need to get up, the wind takes it super easily!
  • It doesn't stay inflated for 5-8 hours, as advertised. It stays partially inflated that long..but not fully.
  • It's comfy that it curls up around you, but on hot days that equals tons of sweat.
  • Beware of sharp objects! But I haven't popped mine yet!
  • Room for one. I tried sharing it with @AustinHopper but you smush into each other even more than in a typical hammock.

81zTBVyspTL._SL1200_.jpg

Final Thoughts

The X-Lounger is something I've enjoyed having for trips to the park, the beach and laying in my backyard to read on sunny days. I wouldn't recommend it for extreme hikers or rugged terrain. It's harder than it looks to inflate and isn't the kind of chair you can share with a friend. There is something super comfy about it that beats other flat, inflatable mats. It's a deluxe kind of seat that you'll likely enjoy if you can get over the awkward effort it takes to get it set up!
IMG_20180311_150426.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61