BATES MOTEL (review): The "Mother of the Year" - Psychologically Damaging to Her Son

in #review6 years ago (edited)
Hi Steemians, since I miss Vera Farmiga's brilliant performance, I wanted to share my thoughts on this TV show with you guys.


Have you always thought to yourself "So.....what now?" after you binged-watch a TV series and it's all done?

I, myself, as well, and it's like I wanted to see the finale of the series quickly, but when it's already finished, I felt like a bit sad because it's done!

Is it just me who feels this way? It's kind of hard to move on sometimes. Haha!

hdkn9m3uy7my.jpg
Image Source

Well, I have binged-watch seasons 1 through 4 last year so I could catch up with the latest episode.

Screenshot (47).png


It was one of my favorite TV series that I've already seen so far. The performances on this show were absolutely awesome. I loved to dig in to characters and these characters were so full. Every last one of these actors was "bringing it", and I'm so impressed with everything about this. The original actor from the classic film Psycho, Anthony Perkins, must be proud of them as to how they portrayed their role so well. The writing drags you in kicking and screaming. You wouldn't wanna miss any single of its episode like that of Breaking Bad which I binged-watch the whole seasons in just a week! But I'm gonna focus on Bates Motel for now. :)

Screenshot (48).png
Cto:www.facebook.com/BatesMotelAETV
Vera Farmiga was the reason why I enjoyed watching this series. There's a funny side and yet a very classy performance of her as Norma Bates that you'd truly love as the story goes on. Freddie Highmore did an outstanding job as well and even though he is doing great playing an autistic doctor in his new series The Good Doctor, I still think of him as Norman. Lol.

Bates Motel, a contemporary prequel series of classic "Psycho" film, is about a "mother-and-son unique bond-relationship." You know, the natural love of a mother towards her child and vice versa, but it turns out more creepy and awkward at times. Norma would always think and care for her son whatever it takes, even if it involves her personal life. The part where she loved a sherriff named Alex Romero, played by Nestor Carbonell (Mr. Guyliner, himself) who performed Richard Alpert on “Lost”, was one of the heartbreaking moments for me. I loved them as a couple and the genuine love of this sherriff towards Norma Bates. However, her son would do everything as cleverly as he could just for their "mother-and-son relationship" not be ruined. Their "bonding" will soon forged the son to be violent and will have psychological issues, which later on could lead their life into madness.

batesmotel-1280-1484937142589_1280w.jpg
Image Source

In my opinion, this TV series implies that what ever a child has witnessed or experienced in the past, it will surely have an effect later on in his life. It is highly important that for us, as parents, we need to make sure that our kids have a good environment at home. It will start from nurturing them with a right kind of love that will feed their "growing" years into a good person they becoming. I know that there will come a point that we aren't in control of the circumstances in our life. However, we need to allow ourselves to heal from our "dark" past, to move on, and to start a new life. We have to make ways on how to be a better person not only for ourselves but also for our children. Seek professional help if needed, join a support group,and find ways to express yourself in order for you to breathe out the burden from within. Healing is essential.

Each day is our chance to be better than we were yesterday.

That's all for now folks.

THANK YOU FOR READING!

received_2030666636945266.png

Sort:  

Thanks for the insights @sarahdandridge
Super love ko yan si Carbonell..
Kulang ako ng isang Season ng Lost..yung Season 6 😭

Haha.. sa netflix ata meron @ryl. Love ko din sya dito sa Bates Motel. Madadala ka talaga. Ang ganda ng character nya.

A good environment is a great effect for children and for the development of the brain to have a peaceful mind.

What I am watching now is the Korean Series Doctor Strangers... (^_^(

That's certainly true! Even when we think they're too young to grasp what's going on around them, still there are memories retained within themselves or suppressed, that can affect their life psychologically when they grow up. Something terrible may happen when they can't handle themselves very well. By the way, i dont know which came first between Korean series and American series of The Good Doctor.

This post has received a 0.07 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99