Book Review: I Think I Love You

in #review6 years ago

ithinkiloveyou

Check out the highlights on our official review of I THINK I LOVE YOU by Lauren Layne!

  • feels like the true end to Lauren Layne's Oxford series
  • Ms. Layne tackles the friends-to-lovers trope here
  • I knew it would be a tricky one with questions that needed to be answered--questions that this trope always seems to invite for the pairing to be a believable and satisfying one.
  • I was actually more interested in the implications of this trope and how Ms. Layne would tackle the explanation of the sudden flip in the switch in their relationship when years of never looking at each other 'that way' were thrown to the wind--because this would probably justify the validity so to speak, of best friends becoming lovers. How does a seduction plan inexplicably turn Hunter into looking at Brit from a platonic friend into someone else? There's a suggestion here that a platonic friendship perpetually hangs on a knife's edge, needing merely the slightest thing for it to tip over into a different space, so would that have meant that Hunter and Brit would never have crossed any line had Brit not taken the first step?
  • I'm not entirely sure if I'm quite convinced about this trope still.
  • It's probably cynicism speaking here nonetheless and that Ms. Layne chooses to tackle this once again isn't surprising seeing how often it appears in her books.
  • I do think Hunter and Brit do ultimately belong together, only that I had hoped for a more solid grounding for them becoming a couple other than sudden, forced proximity with all the talk of dating and seduction giving them the orgasmic shivers.

Rating: 3 Stars

Reviewed by Pip
for TheRomanceReviews.com

Catch the full review and details on The Romance Reviews website.

Now available on Amazon.com.

Photo credits: TheRomanceReviews.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55