Review of Cattlemen's Ranch Shepherd's Pie

in #review5 years ago (edited)

What's got anchovies, yet is tasty? Shepherd's pie, that's what! A traditional meal I remember from childhood, it contains a base of ground/minced beef in a savory sauce with mixed veggies and, gasp!, anchovies, and mashed potatoes on top. It's not that hard to make, either, but the other day we were at Aldi and my daughter wanted some. They happened to have some refrigerated from Cattlemen's Ranch, so I picked up a couple of packages of it and we ate it tonight.
20190307_165709.jpg

As you can see, it's from Canada, ready to bake and contains 14g of protein. It was in a plastic-lined paper tray with film on top that had to be removed prior to baking. 40 minutes in the over at 375 F and it was done! We dug right into it and my kids seemed to enjoy it quite nicely. It was savory and tasty.

The meat didn't seem to be minced, although that is what the box claimed - it was rather coarser than that and, although the sauce was good, it was not exceptional. We've had Bremer's frozen variety and that was better. I'd probably buy it again if Bremer's weren't available, but it's not my top choice. The mashed potatoes tasted like they were from dry flakes, but that isn't indicated in the ingredients and, like I said, the sauce wasn't top-notch although they certainly put a lot into it. I guess I'd give it 6.5/10, whereas Bremer's would probably be 8/10. I guess I'll have to try Bremer's again to make sure! :)

Update 3/16: I tried Bremer's and here's what I thought: Review of Bremer's Shepherd's Pie!



If you appreciate this article, please upvote/like, resteem/share and share it to Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, LinkedIn and wherever else you can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85