Game Night Review

in #review4 years ago (edited)

I've watched so many movies in my life that I hate watching the standard stuff that comes out. After a while, you can predict everything, it all seems trite and the non-stop selling of love becomes nauseating. The good guys win (even when they're really bad guys), the bad(der) guys lose, and everything is resolved in the space of a couple of hours.

I like movies that take unexpected turns. The novel Shogun, for me, set the bar really high. I hate slasher films because they lack finesse and suspense and rely too heavily on shock value, which is not valuable unless used sparingly. The power of innuendo is lost on some of these film makers.

There are things about this movie that I don't like: the idealization of marriage, the quick resolution of multiple problems, and the sale of love (I don't have anything against love, I just don't like how it's abused for marketing purposes). I HATE contrived coincidences and people doing things that they are totally unequipped to do, all 5 of which there are in this film.

And yet, Game Night managed to please me in other ways. It triggered emotional responses, which probably isn't the most difficult thing to do, especially with two seasoned performers like Rachel McAdams and Jason Bateman (am I the only one who thinks of "Psycho" when I hear that name?)! The plot twists turned out to go further than I'd anticipated, which I appreciate. I also like that, in the end, the film is true-to-life in that the bad guy sticks to his rottenness while schmoozing everyone into thinking he's going to reform. He's despicable! And then there's the other guy...You'll know who I mean.

If you're looking for a good romp with plenty of action, intrigue, some discomfiting moments, and a happy ending, and with more brains and creativity than most movies possess, you might just want to invite your friends over for Game Night after game night. Or before. Up to you!



If you appreciate this article, please upvote/like, resteem/share and share it to Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, LinkedIn and wherever else you can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83