My favorite books - The Ryria Revelations

in #review8 years ago

In these posts I will tell you about my favorite books (mainly fantasy). This time I will talk about The Ryria Revelations.

My first post can be found here.

The Ryria Revelations is a series of books, written by Michael J. Sullivan. It talks about a partnership between an ex-soldier/mercenary called Hadrian and a thief/assassin called Royce. The two of them are for hire as Ryria. The stories mostly center around Royce and Hadrian and how they apply their skills and wits to get through their assignements. It is mostly about the human world, with a little hit of magic and elves, dwarves and other creatures on the side.

They make an interesting pair and their relationship makes for a fun read. With Hadrian being the optimistic, social one and Royce being the dark, quiet and distrustful one. Through the years, he has learned to trust Hadrian.

Ryria Revelations

The stories of The Ryria Revelations were published in three books:

  • Theft of Swords, containing The Crown Consipracy and Avempartha.
  • Rise of Empire, containing Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm.
  • Heir of Novron, containing Wintertide and Percepliquis.

Later on, Michael J. Sullivan wrote a couple of prequel books, The Ryria Chronicles, talking about how Hadrian and Royce met, about how they met Royce's love interest and about their earlier adventures:

  • The Crown Tower
  • The Rose and the Thorn
  • The Death of Dulgath

I love these books, because, besides the compelling stories, the relationship between Royce and Hadrian is fun to read about. You really grow to love the characters, so by the end of the books, you feel sad that you'll have to miss them. I read Ryria Revalations, before I knew about Ryria Chronicles, maybe even before they existed. So when I later found out there were three other books about Ryria, I was very happy and ordered them right away! It felt great to dive into that world again.

I still hold some hope that one day, the writer will decide to revisit this world yet again.

Michael J. Sullivan has replaced Terry Goodkind as my favorite writer, because of his Ryria books. I can definitely recommend them to anyone who enjoys fantasy books. Michael J. Sullivan created a wonderful world and amazing characters. They all have their flaws, but they are lovable nonetheless, or maybe especially because of those flaws.


Image source.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Wordpress | Deviantart | Facebook | Photography shop |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Thank you for sharing useful information, it was interesting to read your post)

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82