Arrow Season 7 Episode 10: 'My Name is Emiko Queen' Review

in #review5 years ago

[Beware! Massive spoilers ahead!]

Curtis: 'Does this mean what I think it means?'

Arrow-Season-7-Episode-10-featured.jpg

Yes, Curtis, it absolutely does. There's a new Team Arrow in town!

Okay, that out of the way, I should say that I'm not really a big fan of this story plot for several reasons. Yes, it's a comic book show, but bringing Robert Queen's unknown daughter and having her be the green arrow seems somewhat of a stretch for me. And this episode did more to heighten that feeling when it revealed her back story. I mean, unless there's more they haven't told us, we're supposed to believe Emiko got almost as skilled as Oliver Queen in the space of a year? Not to say, she managed to track down a super secret hired killer. Come on!

Even with her blood sample, Oliver's and Felicity's finding out her identity was a little too implausible. Let's face it... Robert Queen had to have had many more offshore accounts, and many more other accounts to which he'd made regular payments. How on earth could they just single one out and bam! It's a warehouse containing stuff kept by Moira Queen, and then the warehouse (of course) has a letter in a box that leads them to Emiko. That's just lazy writing.

Then there's Oliver's reaction. Totally not Oliver Queen at all, knowing all he does by now and with all he's experienced. I get tired of the 'my-family-has-done-wrong' diatribe he makes everytime. Didn't Moira pay Samantha to lie to him about his own son? How is this that more shocking to him?

curtis-has-questions-arrow-s7e10.jpg

Anyways, Emiko now has her own Team Arrow with Rene and Curtis (who were the most believable characters in the episode) and Oliver now knows who she is. Hoping they bring back Diggle into the main storyarc soon, 'cos I found I couldn't really care about him, Lyla or even Diaz over at ARGUS. Also hoping this thing with Emiko Queen is not a ploy to kill off Oliver Queen and make Arrow about her instead after next year's crossover. That would really suck.

The flash forward scenes also fell a little flat. The only scene I really enjoyed was Dinah's and René's confrontation, just because I love the chemistry between those two. I'm not the only one that can see it, am I?

P.S.: Katie Cassidy is now Katie Cassidy Rodgers! Didn't know that until this episode. Congrats, Canary!


Upvote, Comment, Resteem

Follow me @petermarie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95