Sony WF1000X Review: Wireless noise-cancelling earbuds

in #review7 years ago (edited)

The market for wireless headphones, earphones and other Bluetooth devices has taken a great deal of time. In this Sony WF1000X wireless earphones review we look at whether they are worth buying.

Sony WF1000X

The Sony WF1000X is part of a new series of Bluetooth audio products announced by the manufacturer during the IFA in Berlin. This is a cordless Bluetooth headphone in the form of earphones combined with a charging box. In the past few weeks I have tested this extensively and I came to a conclusion.

Noise Cancellation and Audio

In recent years, I became very excited about noise canceling and have already tested the necessary headphones. Everyday I use the Bose Quiet Comfort 35, but that's an over-ear, so I was also very curious how the Sony WF1000X would work like earphones.

Sony has chosen to use regular and adaptive-noise cancelling in their new products. This adaptive noise cancelling ensures that some sounds are still passed and others do not. The app can set whether or not to hear voices when using your headphone or just passing through. There is also a car mode that detects whether you are standing or running to determine which level of noise suppression should be used.

Sony_WF1000X-1.jpg

I used this automatic mode the most often, which is quickly updated by notification in the notification bar of your smartphone. Frankly, the noise cancelling did not disappoint me with the Sony WF1000X. Of course, it's less than an over-ear, logical, but it's nice to get involved at some times, like talking colleagues.

As a non-audio file, I was also talking about the sound. Have listened to Spotify in the test period, especially podcasts and audiobooks and quality. The bass was a bit heavier for my personal taste, but the quality is generally enough to mention enough.

Sony_WF1000X-4.jpg

App, Charging and Fit

The Sony Headphones app does not have a very good review in the Play Store, but the latest update made me feel pretty good. The settings for the model I used were quite limited, here were only a few settings for noise cancelling, but for the larger brothers in this headphone series there are more options. However, I did not miss them, if I wanted to listen to music, I do not really want to use an extra app, but just listen to undisturbed music.

Charging the WF1000X is included in the supplied box, with enough battery pack available for a long time. Because I've put the box occasionally, I never sat without power. I did not find a concrete number of hours during my test, but for my use I never sat without power. The way in which the headphones are placed in the box is very simple and when the red lights are on, they are charged. It can be as simple as it can be.

Please note that there are continuous lights blinking. So, in the dark, if you want to sleep your partner without the idea that an ambulance is in the bedroom, it will be difficult...

Sony_WF1000X-5.jpg

Of course it is important that there is a good fit, especially with this headset. It is therefore important to use one of the supplied eartips, including the "hook" if necessary. I did not fall out of my ears after adjusting the eartip.

However, I was often told that it looked somewhat ridiculous. The earbuds are quite big and therefore extend a lot of your ears. Here you do not suffer from listening while listening, but yes, the eye also wants some ...

Conclusion

All in all, I'm quite excited about this Bluetooth, noise-cancelling headphone. Especially the extent to which the sound was filtered out surprised me positively. With a recommendation price of 200 euros, they are not cheap, but they can be well in the market of wireless earphones. Are you looking for a few, this is definitely a contender!

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

This is incredible! Love it. @nehashetty

Nice review. I was looking into either these or the new WH-1000XM2. I still can't decide and I'm actually scared of losing these ear buds if I get them lol.

Congratulations @nehashetty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56