Spec Ops: The Line - Game Review

in #review5 years ago (edited)

image.png

You know what I hate about PC games? Conversion from consoles. That often manufacturers don't want to adjust graphics or keyboards to the PC conditions and press us for imperfections of console baggage. I've already had some hits with the astonishing controls in Bulletstorm, but Spec Ops: The Line has overtaken it. But to the point.

Starting the game OK, we're going into graphic settings. And there's not much we can do. Okay, we'll set texture quality or resolution, but forget about anti-aliasing, depth of field or shaders. And the shaders, unfortunately, can dig a lot, especially when we're walking in the desert, and the sand around is shining like polished elephant eggs. Moreover, the terrain was smudged further than 20 meters by force, which makes me feel distant and tired of my eyesight. I can see some fuzzy buildings in Dubai or something, banging on the throats with reflected sunshine. Unfortunately, I cannot correct lenticular flares and flickers and other light fountains, which makes my eyesight tired. Here the game has a solid downside.

Keyboard. Oh I love keyboardology transferred from consoles, where one key is responsible for 2-3 actions. Very annoying for people who are taught to reload weapons with another key and pick up objects with others. Here, unfortunately, it is. With the same key, for example, we have a jump over an obstacle and a mere attack. What if behind the obstacle there is an opponent lurking, whom we want to silently take out the knife? Nothing, we can forget about such an action. Entering behind the cover, sprint and contextual actions are already three actions, assigned to one key. I have to wait for hints that I'm close to the cover, because if I want to hide, and I shoot forward running, it will be uninteresting.

The rest is a string of anguish. Let's take this sprint. When we run, suddenly our mouse sensitivy drops by some ebaut 90%. To sum up, we can run, but only straight, because to turn we have to fan our mouse like a slave with a banana leaf. Anyway, with mouse senitivy these are better numbers. We have a scale from 1 to 10, of which only the first two count. The problem is that 1 is too slow, and 2 is too fast, so we have to fuck with the DPI on the mouse for an apology. I'm just wondering who the other affectionates are for, I guess for ballet masters with the pirouette option, there's no way to turn twelve times around with one mouse movement.

Don't get me wrong. The game itself is pretty cool, though too simplistic for my taste. Although I don't like this view mode and I would prefer a pure FPS, this is my preference. Unfortunately the above mentioned bugs are too annoying, especially when under solid fire we have to read hints on the screen, because depending on our position the key performs different actions. Usually I have problems, because there are no intermediate options on Steam. Either paw up or paw down. This time, however, it will be down, for top control and poor graphic options settings. It's a pity, because with a bit of effort you could do a decent keyboard. But somebody didn't want to.

Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66