OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes - Season 1 Finale

in #review6 years ago (edited)

T.K.O.
Source: WatchCartoonOnline

I have mixed feelings about the recent episode of OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the show, OK K.O.! is one of Cartoon Network’s newer shows. It centers around the titular character, K.O., as he tries to become the world’s greatest superhero (a concept that sounds all too familiar). And one recurring antagonist in the series (besides Boxman and his robots, of course) is K.O.’s alter ego: Turbo K.O., T.K.O. for short.

I’ll be honest. I was never much of a fan of T.K.O. to begin with. The episodes he appeared in so far are alright. My least favorite of the bunch has to be “Mystery Science Fair 201X”. Overall, though, T.K.O.’s episodes aren’t just that enjoyable. He’s one hell of an edgelord in his debut episode [1], while “Mystery Science Fair 201X” was just uninteresting and probably could’ve worked better if K.O. and Dendy had initially decided to do their science fair project on positive emotions as a possible source of energy, and then something gone wrong would bring about K.O.’s negative emotions and unleash T.K.O. Plus, the way they actually did unleash him kind of felt forced [2].

But, I digress. On to how I felt about “You’re in Control”.

Synopsis

“When Boxman deploys a new threat, KO must turn to an old enemy for help” [3].

What I Liked

The interaction between K.O. and Dendy is always enjoyable. The two are just so cute together. I ship it.

K.O. and Dendy
Source: user29616505 - Wattpad

Actually, now that I think about it, pretty much all the interactions in this episode were enjoyable, just as always. I think that’s one of the things that makes the show so enjoyable. Besides being an all-around upbeat series with generally upbeat characters, OK K.O.! also has interesting interactions between its characters. This is why I especially enjoy episodes such as “RMS & Brandon’s First Episode” and “Back in Red Action” [4, 5]. “You’re in Control” is definitely no exception in this regard.

What I Disliked

Turbo K.O.
Source: OK K.O.! Wiki

As I explained before, T.K.O. isn’t my favorite aspect of the show. So, the episode already has that going against it for me. What I also disliked a bit, though, is the subplot involving Darrell. I usually find Darrell to be annoying, and that can be found in this episode as usual. But I feel like that wasn’t the only problem with him in this episode. I feel like the subplot involving Darrell was unnecessary. Cosma still could’ve found out about Boxman’s attempt to destroy the plaza with Boxman Jr. without Darrell’s involvement. Boxman Jr. did end up on the news, after all. Plus, Boxman’s trip to the Sun and Darrell’s take over of Boxmore are both just going to be pissed away in the next season as seen here [6]. So that entire subplot with Darrell could be cut out without losing anything.

Final Verdict

So, the plot was flawed for the most part, but the episode still had the charm and upbeat nature I’ve come to love about the show. Overall, while I don’t care much for T.K.O. or Darrell, this episode is still probably the best T.K.O. episode to date.

  • Story/Plot: 5/10
  • Characters: 9/10
  • Themes/Lessons: 6/10

Overall: 6.67/10


Works Cited

  1. G. Hodgson, M. Ongchua, R. Shannon and P. Simmons, “T.K.O.,” OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes. Warner Bros. Television, 2017.
  2. R. Shannon and P. Simmons, “Mystery Science Fair 201X,” OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes. Warner Bros. Television, 2018.
  3. D. Alegre, S. Borbolla, D. Ducker and H. Lee, “You’re in Control,” OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes. Warner Bros. Television, 2018.
  4. S. Borbolla and D. Ducker, “RMS & Brandon’s First Episode,” OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes. Warner Bros. Television, 2018.
  5. M. Ongchua and P. Simmons, “Back in Red Action,” OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes. Warner Bros. Television, 2017.
  6. Cartoon Network, “OK K.O.! Let’s Be Heroes | Lord Cowboy Darrell | Cartoon Network,” YouTube, 2018.
Sort:  

Hi, I just followed you :-)
Follow back and we can help each other succeed! @hatu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34