You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [BOOK REVIEW] Altered Carbon - Richard Morgan (SciFi - Cyberpunk)

in #review6 years ago (edited)

Oh man, this is my favourite Sci-Fi book. I love reading and I remember at the time it came out that I wasn't feeling it with SCi-Fi. A lot of the tropes were stale or too cold techy. Sometimes with hard sci-fi I love the techy imaginings and other times I get infuriated with someones blinkered or uninspired view of how progress will be or won't be made,

Anyway. I bought this and Neal Asher's Gridlinked. Both are awesome, Altered Carbon, from the very first couple of pages I could not put it down. It was incredible.Takeshi Kovac is an amazing character and the universe is really well thought out. I am going to read them all again!

And I didnt know about the Netflix thing. AWesome, although I have l always been troubled by how they would cast Kovac with all the body swapping nonsense

Sort:  

Glad to hear that this is a favourite of yours. I too was grabbed from the first few pages. I loved it when I first read it, but have wanted to read it again, as a reader but also as a writer, and see what I pick up and what my thoughts are on it now. Still love it.

I haven't read Neil Asher's book, but will take a look for it. Thanks for the recommendation.

I agree with your analysis of SciFi and its tropes. I can get a bit jaded sometimes. That's why this grabbed me like it did, through it's different styling, hard edged styling, pacing, and technologies that were written in a way that shows they were well thought out.

I have the same queries of how the show will play out, given the body swapping element.

It is written incredibly well isnt it. He writes with such an intensity. IT screams out the pages. I hope you like Neal Asher then. It is very good. In a different way but in a cool sci fi universe which I still to this day enjoy. (It's a big universe) Although his latter books do not quite hit such highs his early ones like that (his first) are top of their game, for me at least!

The writing is top class, in my opinion. The story telling, and pacing have inspired me quite a bit. It is very inventive and packs a punch. There are actually more books in Takeshi Kovacs series, but that's the first, and only one that I have read. I will have to look out for the next one.

And I have put Neil Asher's book on to my to read list. Which means I will need a new post to up date my reading list. I have added about a dozen books from people's suggestions over the last few days. And they all sound great.

Would love to stay and chat but I have some reading to catch up on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54