You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just got back from screening Rogue One

in #review8 years ago

I like your review style. You should come work for me :-) just kiddin... I have not seen it myself, and I fear that it is cheap calories like Awakens. The thing they dont seem to understand is that the characterization is everything. Some of the lines that Han Solo has for instance. Makes a whole scene. His tells us who he is in a clever and entertaining way... no Disney is probably too gynocentric and occupied with endowing women with inherent powers and complete control. The male counterbalance actors look geaky or flawed... no masculine Solo type there

Sort:  

Thanks for the compliment. I agree completely that characterization has been lacking since the original trilogy. I wouldn't say it's back in full force this time around but it's an improvement over the vacant characters of some of the other movies.

It occurred to me that I didn't make mention of the female lead. I have no problem with balancing out the equation with some strong female characters. My issue with TFA lead characters is that they were infallible (except for the baddie). Rey was good at everything which made her a bland character. Not the strong characterization women deserved on screen nor the one Daisy Ridley was capable of playing.

Rogue One at least gave us a female lead character with some specific traits. She wasn't particularly flawed but she wasn't suddenly an expert in whatever the situation required.

Diego Luna's character wasn't over the top masculine but he had some tension in him. He grows in a similar fashion to Han Solo but it's underwhelming because his change of heart comes from out of nowhere. Well almost. Don't want to give away too much.

Wasn't planning to make a big deal about the gender roles. I love characters like Jack Burton, Indiana Jones, Han Solo but also Ripley, Sarah Connor, Thelma and Louise. Great characters are great characters.

The best part of Awakens is basically up until Rey appears. That skinny, upperclass looking little, selfabsorbed princess does not belong in Star Wars

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36