Review of Shakepay debit CardsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #review8 years ago

For some time I have considered getting a rechargable Cryptocurrency debit card, to avoid having to pay high fees when converting btc into euros. 

So I signed up on shakepay.co 

Registration process was simple and quick, I also downloaded the application for my phone. 

Purchasing the card costs 15€ and you have to load a minimum of 20€ to receive the card.

I expected to be waiting for a few days longer but 4 days was all it took, today I received my visa debit card.

I just made my first succesfull purchase with this card paying 20€ at Cas Chato where I can also pay with Steem but I wanted to test it to see if it would actually work. The balance was automatically deducted seconds after I paid and I received a sms text message to inform me that somebody had used my card.

Here you can see the limits for loading, withdrawing from atm's and paying with the card.

And these are the fees that you will be paying to use the shakepay debit card

I keep most or all of my savings in Diferent forms of cryptocurrency such as Dash or Bitcoin so this will make my life much easier when it comes to paying things.

Conclusion: Looks like this is a great experience as far as getting my first debit card to use with cryptocurrency.

Hope you enjoyed this article, have a great evening!

Sort:  

does this function ONLY as a debit card, or can you use it online or at a store like a Visa card where credit cards are needed ??

I have been talking with @fulltimegeek about this very type of thing the last week seeing clear issues this would solve.

I know there are a few of these cards/services out there.

Would love your input on this.

I have been waiting on bitwala to verify my docs for 6 weeks now, got tired of waiting and paying 6% to sell btc via atm through bit2me and got me a cool shakepay card!

Thanks for the reply -- I am glad you are happy!!! Nice to see our friends happy!!

Im far from happy, three days without internet. Waiting for somebody to come and fix the line for 2 hours now.

You can pay online and phisically, there is a nfc payment option on the mobile application as well but its currently in testing stages. So far so good with this, I loaded another 20 euros with dash just a few minutes ago.Hope this helps @barrydutton

Very cool! One of my big worries is the fluidity of cryptocurrency. FYI, I know they need more, but your account number is very visible in the above picture. As someone who has had two debit cards and a checking account compromised in the last year, that makes me nervous. (FYI checking accounts are insanely hard to recover, I've tossed all checks and only use cards now.)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.83 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post was 4 months ago. Do you still like shakepay? Pros and cons?

do you still use this service?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72