You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Pride and Prejudice: My Love Hate Relationship with a “classic”.

in #review6 years ago

What a great post! Followed & upvoted! I loved your insights, and you're spot on with your perspectives of the original "Pride & Prejudice." I always felt that the whole thing was more of a social commentary about how ridiculous people could behave at that time, & it's very true that Elizabeth had a seriously "bitchy" side that would have stood out a lot in that time period. I have also read the book so many times & never stopped laughing when I did.

For fun, I recently started writing my own modern parody of "Pride & Prejudice" set in a SoCal-like suburbia with high schoolers competing for college scholarships by performing in "P&P." It's like a play within a play where most of the action takes place offstage & they occasionally quote the original book. I call it "The Devil Plays Mr. Darcy.". And in this one, the new Lizzie is in fact bitchy, fun and witty all rolled up into one with a gay best friend who fulfills the role of the original "Mrs. Bennet." I would love to get your thoughts on it, and I'm totally open to suggestions about refining the story as it progresses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86