You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soundtrack Review | Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals (Yasunori Shiono)

in #review6 years ago

Regarding [9], the Japanese title is the same as Lufia: The Legend Returns instead of Ruins of Lore (you'll find videos of the former if you copy and paste the title on YouTube). I think it's just an accident that the system was listed as Game Boy Advance instead of Game Boy Color.

Also, it seems, from the credit on MobyGames (http://www.mobygames.com/game/sharp-x68000/mugen-senshi-valis-ii/credits), Shiono only worked on sound effects for Mugen Senshi Valis II.

The time you took to transcribe sections and upload them as images is nice, and it's a neat detail.

A small typo: "regarded my Lufia II fans as a classic" should be "regarded BY Lufia II fans as a classic".

Also, there is an unused sad track that reprises the overworld theme (like the first game's Field Motif), if you're curious.

Great review, as always. I'm more familiar with the Saturn gamee's soundtrack, as far as Albert's Odyssey goes, but I'll look forward to that, as well.

(It's not related to this review, but I did take the time to listen to Treasure of the Rudras, and it's a great score, so thanks for the recommendation.)

Sort:  

I think you may mean [10], Ruins of Lore. Thing is, it really is a GameBoy Advance game. There's a Wikipedia page, there's almost certainly a LufiaWorld page, and the soundtrack for both Legend Returns and Ruins of Lore (and Fortress of Doom and Lufia II) are up on Zophar's Domain.

Thank you - and believe me, some of them were time consuming. I had an absolute devil of a time with "The Last Duel". That 1/8 bar really through me off... though perhaps in retrospect I ought better to have made the preceding bar 9/8 rather than throw an awkward and incongruous 1/8 bar in there. Oh well!

I admit, the first two Albert Odyssey games don't match Legend of Eldean, but there's still some good music scattered in.

(Glad you liked Treasure of the Rudras. One of these days I'll write up a review or article or something about it. It really is a fantastic score and a personal favorite of mine.)

Sorry. I think I conveyed myself poorly (and it doesn't help that I mentioned the wrong reference number). I'll try to explain what I mean with images.

I think we're both talking about this game here, from Shiono's TAB profile, right? https://i.imgur.com/X7eDlb9

If you copy and paste that name into Google (the Japanese one), you can find the Japanese Wikipedia page for the series, and there's a comparison between the Japanese and English names on that page. (https://i.imgur.com/0Fq29wX)

If you copy and paste the name of Lufia: The Legend Returns under the game on that TAB profile, you'll see that the subtitle ("よみがえる伝説") for both games are the same. (https://i.imgur.com/169F7hI)

So, I think there's an error on that TAB profile because Lufia: TLR was on GBC rather than on GBA. Hopefully, that explains more clearly what I'm trying to say.

Ah, I see! Okay, thank you very much. I'll edit that part of the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60441.03
ETH 3344.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48