You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Neverland 1996 | Soundtrack Review: Energy Breaker

in #review6 years ago (edited)

Another good review! It took me a while to notice when I first played this game, but the piano in "Those Left Behind" shares a leitmotif with "On the Azure Horizon" (although you've probably noticed, being more musically inclined than me, haha).

It's probably worth noting that there aren't actually many/any battle themes in this game, but that the dungeon/area theme usually continues to be used when there is a battle.

I agree with the tracks you pointed out having a strong melody, and that the percussion is a bit excessive at times.

Unfortunately, it seems that Yuusei Yamamato isn't with us (at least, according to a Google Translation of this tweet: https://twitter.com/yukio_nakajima/status/342998153743716353). It seems that he may have composed a few other tracks for a few puzzle games by Hudson Soft, however (according to https://twitter.com/yukio_nakajima/status/343026914279182336). I'll link the ones I found below.



(I can't seem to find the track titled "ひとりにしてくれ", so it might not be uploaded online.)

Yukio Nakajima is responsible for the track at 3:42 here, as well: https://twitter.com/yukio_nakajima/status/780810506525257729. He's worked on the indie smartphone Sphere Knight (which has around 6 tracks), as well as another game called Summon Board (although I'm not too familiar with that).

Sorry about the long comment (and talking more about the composers than the review itself).

A few typos I noticed:
-"the results from Google Translate is often flawed" should either be "the results from Google Translate ARE often flawed" or "the result from Google Translate is often flawed" (changin is/are depending on plurality).
-There isn't a closing speech mark when you mention "Blowing the Wilderness" being one of your favourite tracks.
-At some points, you referred to one of the tracks as "One Sided Feelings" and, at other points, you referred to it as "Thoughts Unarrived". I think the latter name sounds better.

Oh, and a final note: you'll find two remixes from Energy Breaker for a fan-made Mega Man/Rockman game on YouTube if you type "rockman gaiden prayer bells" and "rockman gaiden azure horizon", if that interests you.

Sort:  

Thank you as always for your comments! And please, don't apologize for talking about the composers too much. I do it myself and more information is always a good thing.

I didn't know Yuusei Yamamoto had other credits to his name! Good to know there's some small amount of other work.

Well done noticing the link between "Those Left Behind" and "In the Blue Horizon" - I actually didn't catch that one.

Thank you for pointing out the typos. Would you mind if I edited the post to reflect your findings on Nakajima's work?

For readers of this post: Hummy could not log into Steemit at the time, but he saw the comment and gave me permission over Twitter. The "Overview" section of this post has been updated to reflect his findings and he himself has been tagged in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44