Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

in #review7 years ago

By now, everyone who was interested, should have seen Bladerunner 2049. Have you ever asked yourself, where did it all begin?

In 1968, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? was published. Phillip K. Dick was into his thirteenth year as an author, and the world was introduced to Rick Deckard, who retires read: kills replicants. (But can you kill that which is technically not alive?)

The novel, which became Ridley Scott's cult-classic film, Blade Runner remains the best and most excellent depiction of a future world in which most species of animal are extinct, and the Earth has a star that never shines. It's a dark, bleak place.

The films convey a lack of individuality, but fail to capture the very essence of desperate, everyday existence in the same way in which the novel does, right from the first page. Deckard and his wife (yes, he's a married man) bicker, and all the while we're learning more and more about misery, hopes; and differing outlooks on the world.

Earth is relegated to being an island amid rising sea waters, except the tide is heading off-planet, where more and more people emigrate to avoid the polluted, ruined and mostly-infertile planet (and populace), as the cradle of humanity withers away to a Cyperpunk wild-west.

To call a novel a short story is a misnomer, but on every occasion I have commenced reading Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? it has been completed in a single sitting, meeting the definition of short story, in a technical sense.

It is far from a short story - it is a captivating, engrossing, and immersive page turner, full of atmosphere, mystery, and speculation. Exploring the very notion of what it is to be human, (or perhaps not be) Dick effectively manages to enrapture an audience with an entirely believable world.

In a world where the best status symbol one can own is a real, live animal, (or, for those less fortunate, a convincing replica of one) - you find yourself reflecting upon the fragility of life as Deckard, essentially a bounty hunter, retiring rogue androids kills things, ends their consciousness so that he might enjoy the consciousness of another creature.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? asks a question with its title which in of its self, references one of the underlying questions of the novel - is Deckard himself an android? Does he have a pre-mandated expiration date? Where exactly can one draw the line between human and android?

By modern standards, the language used in the novel is a bit clunky, but once you become familiar with the stlyings that Dick uses throughout the tale, you become completely immersed in one of the best pieces of speculative fiction ever written. To call it science fiction is a complete misnomer.

If you haven't read this seminal piece text of the genre, then you truly must.

Thanks for reading, have an awesome day!

:)

Sort:  

You really are a jack of all trades mate!! Every time I check my feed there is something new from you on a completely new subject. I haven't read this, but will be now. I'm trying to write my own dystopian future novella at the moment, so reading the seminal work in the genre seems appropriate.

I find it daunting, and hope that it doesn't alienate my followers expecting certain types of content. I'm engrossed by so many different things, art, photography, games, books, movies, music, stories, crypto - I can't focus on just one thing!

I'm a renaissance man!

I'm the same. I have mostly posted about crypto and finance until now, but there is so much other cool stuff to talk about. I worry about alienating the audience as well, but I'll work on the fact that as long as its good content then someone should like it.

If you ever get stuck then just put up a picture of your beard in front of your number plate. Ill upvote that shit anyday!

Haha, It will be the center-piece at a few local steem meet ups me a few other IRL mates that are on Steemit will regularly attend to talk about the platform, crypto, and life in general, and for those that enjoy it, the amber fluid.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting, and engaging, I appreciate that more than upvotes!

It is a good book. Philip k dick was a methed out maniac. But he wrote good things. I've wanted to read Ubik, it's on my list. I just haven't made it there yet

I've only ever read this one, sadly. I love Arthur C Clarke's work as well. There is so much good SF out there, and it is so much better than the 'modern'SF. :)

Glad to see you back around the place, buddy. :)

its good to be back and not so busy. Glad to see you still around! I have read a little Arthur C Clarke, hes good.. and yes the old stuff is most often better, if only you can get over the time barrier or the words and writing styles. I have mostly been reading old ones lately.. The underground man (highly recommend), a star is my destination (more highly recommend), Brave New World (I'm sure oyu read it already.. and Ive been wanting to tear through 'We' which I hear is the original Brave New World / 1984 book!

something witty

I've never read the book OR seen the movies. I kind of lived under a rock during my childhood and early adulthood years. A strictly Christian, fantasy/sci-fi-hating rock. I'm going to have to get caught up on the classics, and this seems a good a place as any to start.

Thanks for the review/book recommendation! It's definitely going on my to-read list.

Would love to hear your thoughts after you've had a read. Its a relatively short novel as far as they go, but it's pretty dense, in terms of theme, world building, and in particular, atmosphere.

Nice article androids have come to stay. I wish and hope I lay my hands on the genre

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by holoz0r from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.07 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I am a big fan of Philip K. Dick. He is the Kafka of Science Fiction.

You know this is one novel (and there are plenty more) that I haven't read; and I very much like Bladerunner, I think I know what I'm picking up next! Thanks mate!

It has plenty of depth, and can be read again and again - this novel is an almost spiritual experience.

Good analysis. This is one of my favorite novels by PKD, right up there with A Scanner Darkly and Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said. The guy really had a way with concepts like this that nobody else could quite match, even today. He was a unique one, to be sure, almost like Lovecraft in the way he was so outside the ken of almost everybody else writing in the same time period, and after.

I'd disagree about the whole "calling it a scifi book is a misnomer" thing, though. I think it fits squarely into that category very nicely. Just because something is science fiction or fantasy doesn't mean that it can't deal with deep themes and philosophical questions. But other than that, nice review!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58180.92
ETH 2477.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42