Flashback Reviews: Star Wars Side Projects Part III (Star Wars Droids)

in #review8 years ago (edited)

Even though I am tackling these Star Wars side projects chronologically, it may appear that I have started with the worst and am working my way to the best. I assure you this is merely coincidental. It is also arguable as to whether or not the first Ewok movie is worse than the second one. Although that would be an awesome drunken bar room debate, it is beyond the scope of this project.



Quick R2! Let's get out of here before something exciting happens!

In order to prove I am moving through them chronologically, today's Star Wars side project is the 1985 ABC cartoon Star Wars Droids: The Adventures of R2-D2 and C-3PO. Don't get me wrong, it's pretty bad... but compared to the Ewok cartoon I will cover in the next installment, it's a masterpiece.

The show consists of thirteen approximately 22 minute long episodes plus one 48 minute special. It is set in the years before Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope. During the show, C-3PO and R2D2 have two different sets of masters. During the first four episode the duo travels the galaxy with a group of young (possibly teenage) speeder racers. There appear to be some kind of gangsters after the group. This arc culminates with a speeder race (hmmm kind of like a pod race). Because it was a Saturday morning cartoon, the characters are not allowed to use blasters. Some ships fire blasters... but oddly enough they always miss. Therefore, its pretty boring.



The show was such a blatant 22 minute long commercial for toys that it could give The Mattel and Mars Bar Quick Energy Chocobot Hour a run for it's money. By the way if you find the toy of the guy in the blue suit, it's worth around $1000.

The second arc revolves around the droids teaming with Jann Tosh a young man who is orphaned and lives with his uncle. the tow are miners. I know this sounds really familiar but you are thinking of an orphan living with his uncle on a farm. That is completely different from a mine. Duh!

In the first episode of this arc, Jann unknowingly saves a prince named Mon Julpa. For the remainder of the series, Jann, the droids, and a small team of humans carry out missions and protect King Julpa. The missions are not terribly exciting.



Stop! Or I swear I'll use the dust buster!

As I stated in the first installment of Flash Back Reviews, I am not going to get into the minutia of whether or not this cartoon are officially "canon". Instead I will simply say whether or not anything from the cartoon will help you to enjoy the main movies more.

Will it help you enjoy the main movies more?

This one is not as cut and dry as the others.

The good (or at least the interesting):

  • Anthony Daniels provides the voice of C-3PO
  • The theme is done by Stewart Copeland of the Police
  • IG-88 is in an episode
  • Boba Fett is in an episode
  • There are cute connections to the movies (A Pirate is named Kybo Ren, The speeder races are similar to pod racing, there are many planets similar to Jakku)
  • The animation is similar to the movie Heavy Metal (I'm not into it, but you might be)

The bad

  • It's boring
  • They can't use blasters

Should you see it?

That depends on one question. How much do you like Boba Fett? He was in the original trilogy for less than 20 minutes. Are you craving more Boba Fett? If so, all you need to do is watch this one episode below. If for some reason, you like it, have at it and watch the rest!

Sources
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Wars:_Droids
http://www.avclub.com/article/read-celebrate-30th-anniversary-abcs-star-wars-dro-225352

Image Links 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Your first paragraph ROFL.

Resteemed if only just for that fact alone lol!

Thanks!!! I can't wait to get to the good ones.

Your stuff is so funny sometimes, it is a true source of entertainment brother.

I love Star Wars (except what Lucas did to Eps. 1, 2, & 3) but I don't know if I could do the cartoons. LOL The comic books were AWESOME though! I wish I still had them. (Lost them during one of my moves. Sad. Sad.)

I have one more terrible one... but then the next ones are all pretty good. One of them is actually exceptionally good. I had a DVD recorder at the time when one of the good ones came out and I recorded it and gave copies to all my buddies for Christmas. That will be the one after the terrible Ewoks one. I'll have that out next week. I'm going to recommend a few. Or at least some key episodes. You can get the trade paper backs of the Star wars comics for pretty cheap at comic book shows.

I am looking forward to a good side project :)

Me too! I am forcing myself to watch each of these to ensure an authentic post. After the Ewoks cartoon (which I already watched a couple of days ago) the rest are pretty good.

I have to admit now that you have planted the seed, I can't help but hear the drunken bar crew in uproar about the whole thing! I'm still giggling about it... thanks for the article. I wasn't aware of much of this before coming across your post.

All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

If I engaged on that argument, I don't know if it would make my top 5 dumbest. I was argued for 2 hours as to whether or not an catch by a baseball outfielder was an elite athletic achievement. I said it was. My buddy said it was "too easy". lol

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

12 views and 229 votes by now, nice!

I respectfully disagree with the rewards given for this post.

Personally I can not see why this post should be rewarded over $100, so I will "downvote" it (unfortunately still misrepresented by a flag icon on Steemit.com).

This does not necessarily mean that I don't value your content. It is also meant as a gesture towards the content itself only, not at all to be taken as personal towards the user posting and since I hold very little power on this platform it is very unlikely to harm the user him or herself.

More information about my voting patterns can be found in my profile description. Please don't let this minor speedbump keep anyone from posting what You consider to be great content!

-Personal note: Good content. Congratulations on reaching the trending page @hanshotfirst! Looking forward to more now that I'm following you again =)