Sort:  

Agreed, it's confusing. But confusing because it's totally dishonest: Scorses strays from the perfectly controlled austere realism of his movie to suddenly relapse and shout "You see, in spite of all, he is still ----". It's dogmatic, it's wishful thinking, it's hypocritical. I wish he had been more subtle with his "twist".

Unfortunately you are right. Have you seen Lars von Trier's "Nymphomaniac"? The end of the movie had the same feeling of dichotomy for me. On the one hand, there was a violent of the scripture, and it was somehow fake; on the other hand, I was stunned. The same was with "Silence" end - disappointment and shock.

Nope :-/ I love LvT but I have not seen this one(s) yet... However, speaking of Von Trier, the ending of Dogville, for example (when the "dog" appears) made totally sense in the context of the movie. I think Scorsese and Lars Von Trier are somehow linked: Scorsese is terrified about the disappearance or the silence of God... While Von Trier (in my opinion) is terrified of its possible presence and actions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59079.50
ETH 2697.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50