Acer Swift 1 Laptop Review

in #review6 years ago (edited)

TECH REVIEW

20180215_113229_HDR-01.jpeg

Hi everyone!
I bought this laptop just over a month ago with some steem rewards. This is my first tech review, I wanted to review this laptop as I haven't seen much around about it. Normally budget tech gets ignored and not talked about as much.

I got this because I needed a cheap replacement for my old laptop that died. This laptop is a great little machine for anyone on a budget. After owning this machine for a month I thought I'd write a quick review. Maybe it could be helpful for someone looking for a computer on a budget. I am Canadian so prices may be different for you but I paid $429.99 for this laptop, I found a deal and got bestbuy to price match for me, it was originally $499.99.

20180215_113136_HDR-01.jpeg

First off. When I was looking for a laptop I wanted something that looked nice and that was portable. I could have gotten a laptop with a bit better specs but it would not have been of same build quality. Finding an affordable ultraportable aluminium laptop is currently next to impossible in this price range. This laptop is thin, very lightweight and durable. It is silent as there no fans with a sealed aluminium body.

I just wanted a light machine with FULL HD display, LED keyboard and metal body. I use the laptop mainly for browsing the web, watching video and listening to music.

20180215_113301_HDR-01.jpeg

Specs

Pentium N4200 Processor. Quad Core up to 2.5ghz 2MB cache
4 GB Ram
64 GB Flash Storage
13.3-inch 1080p display
LED backlit keyboard and fingerprint reader
3 usb 3.0 ports, 1 usb type C, 1 hdmi port, sd card reader, bluetooth, webcam and a headphone jack

20180126_115419_HDR-01.jpeg

Overall I really like this laptop and it satisfies my needs. It has a bright and colorful display with great viewing angles and clear audio. The machine's Pentium N4200 processor is reliable for office/school-related tasks, while also providing decent performance for streaming video and music. The amount of ram is sufficient as I can run 10 plus tabs in chrome and still do other basic tasks as well.

Connecting stuff with the laptop is great! It has plenty of ports, a great wifi card and bluetooth.

The one downside some may have is it lacking storage with only 64 GB and that mostly eaten up by windows 10 and some other basic programs you may want to install. I recommend getting an external hardrive for extra storage. I bought a 1 TB seagate external hard drive.

If you want an attractive ultrabook that's affordable and has a great display, the Swift 1 is a great choice!

Thanks for stopping bye and reading, any questions or comments feel free to leave them below :D

Sort:  

That sounds like a great laptop for the price wow , what a good deal @gavinthegreat ! So awesome that you were able to buy it with steem ! 💻💻💻💻💻💻💻💻💻💻💻💻💻💻

Thank you very much :D

Yea it was great purchase very happy so far.

That's awesome !😀💻💻💻

That is a beautiful baby mehn! I love attractive, tender and slim...I am still talking about your Laptop @gavinthegreat 👴

That's is a great buy at that price especially it is mainly for surfing the web, watching videos and playing music.

I hope you guys form a pleasurable and profitable bond.

HAHAHA
Thanks for the laugh.
Glad you enjoyed the post.

Hello steemit user!
i just upvoted your post.
I use my steem power to help people like you to gain more attraction.
Please consider doing the same for my posts.
Have a nice day :)

Thanks, glad you enjoyed!

Short review. What GPU this laptop has? What is the performance of the CPU in certain apps? Any more information that could help us to judge if this laptop is decent?

NO GPU it is on board graphics
Intel HD Graphics 505
I just use it for basic things such watching video, listening to music, surfing the web, and making documents. It won't play many games, it is not meant for that. It is a fanless computer that is silent and slim.

Thank you. I was kinda hoping for some performance test espciecially about the flash storage, as they tend to be slow even for an SSD. I have an HP notebook with similar specs and I've been wondering if your storage is slow too.

This post has received a 1.37 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @karenmckersie

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gavinthegreat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81