Mission: Impossible – Fallout – A Review – (PowerHouseCreatives Contest)

in #review5 years ago (edited)

Mission: Impossible – Fallout – A Review

In this article, I am going to review the 2018 movie, Mission: Impossible – Fallout, starring Tom Cruise and Henry Cavill, and also co-starring several people with whom I have no familiarity. I am terrible with identifying movie stars by sight today, if they aren’t at the very top tier of popularity and their images aren't plastered everywhere on everything.

I’ll start off this review by saying that I have not seen even one of the preceding Tom Cruise Mission: Impossible films. Although I was made aware of all the truly outlandish stunts Tom Cruise is said to do himself, it’s never been enough to draw me to one of his Mission: Impossible movies. The last Tom Cruise movie that I had seen prior to Mission: Impossible – Fallout was Vanilla Sky in 2001.

Just now, looking at information from Wikipedia on this film, the director, Christopher McQuarrie, is the first director to direct more than one film in the franchise.

Reading further in the Wikipedia article we find there are two new sequels in the franchise, coming in 2021 and 2022; “both directed by McQuarrie.” They must like him. I don’t know why however, because if you take out the action scenes in this movie, what’s left is rather boring and even flirts with being ridiculously mundane.

I don’t know if anything was carried over to this film from the previous Tom Cruise Mission: Impossible episode, other than what is alluded; Tom’s character had messed up in the last film and let a terrorist group steal some plutonium. But the story itself – the plot – is one of the silliest plots they could have ever come up with, if there is any aim whatsoever at mimicking our world’s reality.

The first time I saw that Alec Baldwin had a role in the movie, I thought it must really be a comedy film. He plays Tom Cruise’s boss. I personally think it’s a big mistake to put Alec Baldwin in a movie that’s supposedly serious, because he’s is going to make people laugh just seeing him on the screen. It’s a bad move to cast him in this type of film, if you ask me.

We’re given the situation - a terrorist group has stolen plutonium, and Alec Baldwin, trying but failing to look serious, (which itself is funny), is bitching at Tom for his screw-up. It’s Tom Cruise’s character’s fault for not following agency procedure that led to the bad guys getting the plutonium.

Tom Cruise assumes the identity of a guy named Lark that wanted the plutonium to build nuclear bombs, but he ended up being killed by a female MI6 agent that also then tries to kill Tom Cruise and his associates, even though she is one of Tom Cruise’s character’s love interests. Tom backs into her motorcycle hard, nearly killing her before taking off again after the terrorists.

Then she joins Tom and his guys, and is accepted as though nothing like her trying to kill them had even happened. (Insert Twilight Zone theme music here.)

But Tom also has another love interest – his WIFE – (that he isn’t with because he doesn’t want her to be put in danger), but they take it so far, that she is actually married to another guy, (a useful idiot that’s gettin’ some of that but doesn’t know she’s really Tom Cruise’s character’s wife), even though Tom Cruise is her man. This had to be one of the goofiest and stupidest concepts that this movie dared venture into.

Hmmm… think were they possibly alluding to Tom’s reportedly eyes wide shut Hollywood lifestyle when they wrote that very odd situation in?

I am old enough to remember watching the original Mission: Impossible TV show as a kid. One of the things they did sometimes, was to make masks that would make them totally look like some other real person. In this movie, they seemed to use this tactic like a shell game.

It was like they wanted to keep the viewer guessing as to just whom, at any particular point, was actually the bad guy they had captured after stealing him from a police van that they knocked into the water. But was it really him or someone just wearing a mask of him?

Surprise! (For about the fifth time.)

They had to save the bad guy from drowning in the van in order to add some extra suspense to the movie - suspense which the film would have lacked for too long if it was not added in here.

Tom Cruise steals a helicopter in mid-air when he wasn’t even a passenger to begin with, though apparently he doesn’t know how to fly one. But he quickly gets the hang of it and becomes an expert copter pilot in seconds and chases down Henry Cavill in another copter, who has turned out to be a treasonous kind of guy.

After Tom makes both copters crash atop the highest cliff in the world, (which both men not only survive, but are in fighting shape), Tom tries to get the detonator for the nuclear bombs from Cavill so he can stop the bombs from exploding.

As you might expect, it is at the very last second that Tom Cruise’s character saves the planet, because if he saved it with something like five minutes left, it would be a big nothing-burger and the movie wouldn’t be at all interesting. (Add an extra eye-roll here.)

As I wrote earlier, if it wasn’t for the stunts, I think this movie would’ve bombed. Another bit of info from the same Wikipedia article attributed above, is that this movie was the very first to be in “REALD 3D, and also had an IMAX release.” I would guess that brought some extra box office cash into the equation, artificially elevating the film’s “popularity” to some degree.

I remember when the film came out, Tom Cruise took James Cordon up in a C-130 plane to do a skydive for a part of his late night show, and I was pretty impressed with Tom’s learning to do all this stuff and executing it so well.

In fact, I will readily give Tom Cruise tons of credit for the insane stuff he seemingly does in these stunts, as it takes a LOT of courage, will, and a little stupidity to do stuff like that, especially when you’re filthy rich and risking your life just to make a movie. But he does do it, (unless it’s all just a big lie), so my hat is off to him for really taking those extra, dangerous steps to exceed in his craft.

The only entertaining parts of this movie however, in my opinion, are the action scenes. The rest is just putridly awful drivel.

I give this film 2 Piles. 💩 💩

Mission: Impossible – Fallout – A Review © free-reign 2019

Sources for images used in this post:

C-130 Aircraft: Image by SnottyBoggins from Pixabay
Claude Monet Painting: Image by David Mark from Pixabay
Nuke Explosion: Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 179 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you trufflepig!

Two piles out of?

Pretty true and sad about the credibility of it. Maybe it's a Deadpool spinoff in disguise?

Cool review and style. Can't wait for your reviews in 2021 and 2023.

Two out of a possible five. LOL The more piles the worse it is, so Mission:Impossible - Fallout did have some good stunt scenes and those parts were good, but the rest of it was pretty bad. :) This is my first review. Thanks for reading!

Two piles! I think I like that rating system!

This might have been the best review I've read in some time. I haven't seen the movie either - I can't take Tom Cruise seriously anymore, and he offended my sensibility by attempting to reboot The Mummy without Brendan Frasier. I didn't even know Alec Baldwin was in it, but that must makes me all the happier for not seeing it.

Thanks for the write up! Love it!

I guess my rating system mimics Rotten Tomatoes more than it would the Academy awards judges, but with movies today, my system's probably more accurate than either of theirs are, when it's just sitting idle, haha! I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw Alec Baldwin, literally!

I just could not fathom that anyone would put him in what's supposed to be at least, a somewhat serious movie. Thanks for reading and I'm glad you liked it!

I was not intending to watch it and now I am definitely not watching it. Ok, maybe when I feel like something braindead then these kind of movies are good if only for the stuff blowing up and people getting knocked out.

I actually had no idea the movie had so very little substance apart from the action scenes. I had been made to think, from the press reviews and their advertising Tom Cruise's big stunt for each film, that the Mission: Impossible movies were pretty well-made films, but if the others are like this one, it's just a crap franchise making chintzy films.

They may be pretty well made but the scripts never required more than a napkin. It like Fast and Furious, I like the movies but they are not stories.

I concur -- the suspense largely felt overdone and predictable. My favorite thing about that movie, oddly, was Ving Rhames. For those in the U.S. (possibly elsewhere, I don't know), you will recognize his voice from the Arby's commercials. His famous expression is: "We have the meats!" He was just a sidekick in Fallout, but he's just adorable and he has that deep resonating voice.

And if you enjoy movie trivia, you might like this incredible moment in entertainment history where Ving Rhames gives his Golden Globe trophy to Jack Lemmon after tearfully accepting it. It's wonderful in so many ways. For example there are some great sightings of celebrities in their younger years, as well as some beloved actors who have passed on, in addition to Lemmon - Alan Rickman, Robin Williams.

Sounds like we agree a lot on this movie. I thought Ving was dead when Tom Cruise shot him, of course, and a little surprised he had on a vest to save him.

The youtube clip is great, and very moving. I had no idea Ving had been an actor for so long, but when they mentioned he played Don King, that shook my memory. I really liked Jack Lemmon, and thought he was one of the funniest, most talented actors ever. It was really cool seeing all those actors & actresses in their younger chassis. Thanks for sharing that!

I thought you might like that! Yes, I learned a lot about Ving Rhames from that video too. I love Youtube for trivia, and helping to put pieces of the puzzle together. Also, it calls to mind people you may not have thought of for a while. Helen Hunt, for example. Whatever happened to her? She seemed to just fade away.

Oh, ha ha. How about that. Helen Hunt is still very active in her career and is doing all kinds of stuff. She has a movie (thriller) just about to come out, titled I See You.

I have watched it many times, just for the pure of action frankly speaking...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56006.20
ETH 2375.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33