My Description: If Star Trek and Big Bang Theory Had A Baby it Might Resemble the New Series "The Orville"

in #review7 years ago


I decided to check out the show "The Orville" tonight as something I randomly downloaded. I didn't look at any trailers for it, and I actually knew nothing about it other than it was some new science fiction series.

Within a minute or less it is apparent it is also a comedy. The production values are very high and there are even cast members that are actually from different Star Trek TV Series from Deep Space 9 to others.

It is basically one of those misfit crew type situations with messy personal lives applied to a crew, a ship, and what looks like could end up being something special.

I don't want to say too much about the episode and spoil it. However, since I was pleasantly surprised I thought I'd give it a thumbs up SO FAR to those of you that like Science Fiction in the vein of Star Trek and don't mind some "Big Bang Theory" style humor thrown into the mix. It does have adult themes as far as the dialog goes so it is not as family friendly as perhaps the Big Bang Theory but the humor has that feel in my mind.

I am not a huge comedy fan. Though I do really like The Big Bang Theory and if the future episodes of "The Orville" remain anything like this first one then I suspect this is a series I might enjoy for some time.

Sort:  

Those are two shows(TNG the most) I have enjoyed immensely. So I will check it out!!

I've been getting the trailor ads for it on YouTube a LOT!! So if Google thinks I'll like it...it must be good!
XP
Thanks, Peace!!!

on point comparison. I also like Big Bang Theory, and have liked the 2 episodes of The Orville I have seen. I would recommend some Rick and Morty to you, it is what would happen if the Big Bang Theory, Back to the future, and Black Mirror had a 3 way baby and it came out a cartoon lol

I watched Black Mirror. Great stuff. I've seen some Rick and Morty.

I don't usually watch a lot of comedy. Big Bang Theory and Silicon Valley I watch.

Ohh man ya, silicon valley is my favorite. For a while I looked forward to that more than game of thrones every Sunday.

Two episodes in and this show still confuses me. My initial impression was that it was going to be a Star Trek spoof (in the vein of the Scary Movie series). But this show seems to want to take itself seriously with a few jokes mixed in.
Not what I was expecting!

Will it work, that is yet to be seen.

I wrote a review of The Orville 6 days ago. I really like it. I really like the serious tone that they're taking in trying to make it a Star Trek type show instead of just a Family Guy in space.

hadn't heard about this 1 yet, thx for sharing:)

The Orville seems to be done for me! Thank you very much!

It looks interesting, and luckily isn't a sitcom with all the annoying laughter... Gonna give this a try!

I think this show is starting to grow on me. I first expected this to be "Family Guy in Space" (I'm not a huge fan of FG, but I did think his Star Wars and Star Trek parodies were hilarious).

The "humor" in this show seems to be much more subdued and dry and that goes against everything that is what is on TV now. Now, everything seems to be tied to a formula and most shows rarely deviate from it.

On the down side, Fox has a reputation of cancelling successful shows after only one season (cough cough Firefly). Hopefully that will not be the case here.

That seems quite interesting, I am a great fan of the Big Bang Theory. I will surely check it out. Thanx for sharing the wonderful stuff.

Congratulations @dwinblood! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93