You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Neverland 1996 | Soundtrack Review: Chaos Seed

in #review7 years ago (edited)

As the drummer of a vgm soundtrack band, I feel uniquely qualified to compliment you on the nerdtastic depth of knowledge here....also really dug your actraiser 2 review as that’s one of my all time favorites and doesn’t get nearly enough love. In bit brigade world, Retro Game Audio is on like 85 percent of van rides....check it out, it’s a 8 and 16 bit soundtrack podcast you are going to lose your mind over :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the compliment! Though I wouldn't go so far as to say I gave ActRaiser 2 love... I'll definitely go listen to an episode of Retro Game Audio. What band are you drummer for? It'd be great to hear some of your work.

I’m the drummer in Bit Brigade, live speed runner soundtrack band extraordinaire. Bunch of our PAX performances are on the YouTube. :)

I didn’t think you were unfair to AR2...the sound engine is noticeably less exciting. I still dig the jams though and any attention, even if critical in nature, is a good thing for the preservation of my favorite time period of game audio (16 bit 4 life).

Oh, that's the coolest thing! Playing music live to speedruns is actually really, really brilliant and unique. It sounds like a really, really good way to do a videogame music concert. I'm listening through the MAGFest 2017 performance and I'm really enjoying it. These are genuinely good band arrangements, and the guitars' sound is very clear.

(I usually listen to orchestral music, btw.)

I love the 16-bit era of music. There's just so many incredible soundtracks - I'd call it a Golden Age, but really I don't think there's ever been an era with bad music. There's just so many fantastic soundtracks, especially on the JRPG front - which is the only front I'm really familiar with. xp I'm not sure I can call it my favorite. I don't think I have a favorite. (Though reviewing mostly SNES music thus far certainly makes that argument stumble a bit.)

As a band, bit brigade definitely leans, taste wise towards 8-Bit, specially tim follin (solstice, etc) system limitation pushing jams...but I personally started with the snes as my first game console and what it did to my music Brain is pretty much undoable. For the better? I think?

I've always enjoyed orchestral music, at first incidental music - for videogames, film, television - and now classical music, too. For several years I didn't like rock much at all. The past few years have really opened my mind both as listener and composer, especially these past few months.

I started out listening to Game Boy and GBA music, so my ears, you could say, were already prepped for SNES music when I discovered it. I'm sure it's had an impact on me - a fondness for melody - but it's been so many years that it, along with everything else, has been, well, "assimilated". I still prefer listening to, and writing, orchestral music, but my sense of the possibilities has been expanded, and I look forward to one day trying my hand at writing rock music, or implementing elements of it into my composing.

I'd say that SNES music is a great influence to have. Exposure to so many great melodies, to intelligent usage of limited resources.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58954.91
ETH 2508.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45