A Coming-of-age Film Gem: Flirting (1991)

in #review7 years ago (edited)

Back to back full DVD cover (pic source)

Flirting is a 1991 Australian coming of age comedy drama film. The film is the stand-alone second part of a trilogy which began with The Year My Voice Broke (1987). The movie is set in 1965 Australia.

An awkward teenage student Danny (Noah Taylor) spends most of his time between being bullied for his stutter and being captivated by Thandiwe (Thandie Newton), a Ugandan exchange student from a nearby all girls' school. The two are both misfits in their respective classes. They both find comfort in each other's affection, crossing the small lake between their schools in search of adulthood.

Finely written and directed by John Duigan, the film maintains a neat balance between dry, especially mocking satire, childish laughter, and dark, lost in thought malice.

It is a movie that rightly captured the whispers, emotions, giggles and gorgeous thrills of teenage love. Noah Taylor is a jowly boy delight, while the 16-year-old newcomer Thandie Newton throws wild, natural glances and hot smiles with the assured air of a professional actress.

This coming-of-age film is a keeper. It is both electrifying and heartbreaking. You will love it.

Movie trailer uploaded by pplsmyl




Sources: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flirting_(film)



Follow me as @darthnava: "SBD! SBD! SBD!.”

Sort:  

nice post and ya i like romantic movies as they are great medium to release stress and anxiety and the trailer looks interesting, i will try and watch the full movie, Stay awesome and thanks for sharing

I think you can still download it through torrents.

ya that's a good idea, i will try torrents first.

very nice post bro....nice and very interesting movie, thanks for sharing
@darthnava .upovted

Awesome review thanks for sharing about this movie

This looks and sounds really cringey. How do you find this stuff? :p

I saw this on cable TV during the early 1990s and liked it. Been looking to download it ever since torrents became a fad.

teenage love!!! I love these kinds of stories. i think this is a must watch for me. parang The Notebook lng nung puppylove plang yung dlwang bida ☺️

Parang ganoon na nga.

Yes my dear friend @darthnava
I think this movie is very good and interesting...
Thank you so much sharing this movie review...
Cheers~~~

I was not born when this movie was shown on screen. I hope I could find a website that streams this movie.

I think you can still download it through torrents.

That is my problem. I do not do Torrent Sir. hmmm

Wow, I had seen Nicole Kidman in her teeens here. She really is an Australian actress before coming to Hollywood. Good find @darthnava

I love movie vary much and you sharing wonderful movie.Thanks my friend

hey friend @darthnava
i am very very glad for your move review post.interesting video.i enjoyed your post.
thanks for sharing..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78