App Review - Duolingo: Learn New Languages

in #review6 years ago

If you still don't know, it was proven that learning new languages is full with cognitive benefits like memory improvement, longer attention span, and a reduced risk of age-related cognitive decline, and these are just a few of the known positive effects of speaking two or more languages.

I'm starting a new series of reviewing different useful apps to the everyday life. I actually already made one about this app when I was a beginner on Steemit, but it was really short and not informative.


Credit

Duolingo is a free education app used to teach the user many languages from German to Japanese. You can learn all the languages in the app from English and from many other languages like Arabic to French and so on.

The PC version:

The mobile version:

I actually use only the mobile application because I can do it from anywhere and I guess I also got used to it.

Each language you learn has different skills to master, for example, some may teach you the basics first and some will start with the letters, it depends on the language. After each skill you master, you will unlock a new one to learn like 'plurals', 'adjectives', 'animals' and more.

Another really cool feature is clubs. You can join/create a club to share your achievements with people with the same goals as yours, for example 'Native English learn German club'.

After some time, the app will tell you to a revision on some words you probably forgot about. You can also always test yourself about all the words you already learned by clicking the blue 'test out' button.

To sum up, it is a great app and really effective with its teaching methods, I would definitely recommend downloading this free app to anyone who wants to learn a new language.

Thanks For Reading!

Sort:  

This was helpful. I've been looking to learn another language. I was going to use Rosetta stone, but it's so expensive. What Languages did you study?

I downloaded this app a few months ago and they didn't have any of the languages I wanted to learn. I actually just redownloaded it and they have added a lot more languages and features now!
Very useful and fun.

Hai Friend good job

I use duolingo app, so far learning Spanish so I can communicate with my best friends family over in Dominican when I go and visit next. Very enjoyable and once I've conquered this I will move on to another, great post and thanks for sharing

Congratulations @bitton! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bitton! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86