Col. Ichabod Conk Bay Rum Aftershave Review

in #review7 years ago (edited)

4 fl oz of spicy bay run aftershave in a groovy glass bottle.

IMG_2769.JPG

If you're familiar with Conk's bay rum shaving soap and are hoping for a similar fragrance, this isn't it, which is odd, as the same people make it!

I'm not saying this is terrible... it's just not as spicy as I was expecting, and a little on the floral side. Maybe a little more clove would spice it up, or at least balance out the cinnamon.

The glass bottle looks cool, although I always worry about having glass in the bathroom - too easy to drop on the tiles, especially with wet hands after shaving.

Also, this stuff has an odd hue to it. Slightly pink... I'd expect more of an amber colour, as it's Bay Rum, and reading the list of ingredients on the box, this colour was intentional:

IMG_2770.JPG

D&C Red no.140, and D&C Green no.5

Odd.

Anyway, this is a mild aftershave, not too much of a sting, if any at all. I guess it closes the pores, which is the point of aftershave, but isn't as aggressive as I'm used to.

And the smell, while not quite what I had in mind, isn't too bad, and it fades within 30 minutes to an hour.

Bottom Line

I'm not sure I'll be replacing this when I get through it, I'll wait and see if it grows on me... but I'll definitely use it up.

It's a mild take on a classic aftershave fragrance, and if you're curious and can pick some up on sale like I did, it's definitely worth a try!


Disclaimer: I don't work for the brand mentioned, and purchased this product with my own money.


Update (13.05.2017)

After a couple of days the sticker/label has fallen right off. No biggie, but yeah, now has no label. Seems the sticker was too thick/stiff, and wanted to stay flat, not be bent around a curved bottle.

It was coming off right out of the box, but it stuck back on when I pressed it down... fail Conk!

Sort:  

I meant to mention, the photos in this post were taken with an iPhone 5SE, and processed through Adobe's free PS Express app.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62065.67
ETH 2429.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68