You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPINION | Devilman Crybaby, or the Apocalypse in which beauty almost trumped over plot

in #review5 years ago

I find it absolutely delighting that Mr Nagai went that way on finishing Harenchi. He was right. People is often scandalized by stuff in media that are way milder than what they do in their secret lives... Maybe I'm over-connecting stuff here, but I find funny that the ending on Harenchi very much resembles what Dante Alighieri did in his Divine Comedy: taking mostly his detractors and giving them a special place in hell for their crimes. So did Nagai, giving his detractors their righteous place in his hellish landscape.

Maybe I'm associating too far because of all the demon talk, haha!

Loved that background intro, I didn't know much about Nagai's work besides Devilman and Demon Lord Dante, from which I enjoyed the animated version from the... 2000s I think?

Anyways, great post! Crybaby was one of the shows I most enjoyed this year, and even if it falls short in some aspects, it greatly compensates with others, making it a really good work in the end.

Also, I've had the pleasure of enjoying other of Yuaasa's works and I can say he is an absolute genius! Totally recommend Ping pong the Animation and The Tatami Galaxy!

Thanks for a nice review!

Sort:  

HAHAHAHAHA Not a bad association at all, my friend 😋 Given Nagai's main influence in Demon Lord Dante was Gustave Doré's own work on Dante Alighieri's Divine Comedy, I can understand your line of thought 🤣

I still have a lot of anime on my 2018's list to watch, probably well into 2019. But Crybaby is a strong contender indeed 👌 However close it was to almost derailing itself.

Thank you for your comment and recommendations 🤗 Happy New Year!

To emphasize on this point, Nagai himself adapted the poem into a manga (Dante Shinkyoku)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70