What the Hulk?: My Thoughts on Avengers: Infinity War

in #review6 years ago (edited)

52115.png

I finally got to watch Avengers: Infinity War with Miguel, Nicole, & Cathy two days ago. I’d pretty much caught up to all the movies I needed to watch in order to fully understand the storyline (including all the standalone movies & previous Avengers movies), except for Black Panther (which I finished last night).

In terms of Avengers: Infinity War, I think it’s admirable that Marvel found a way to successfully bring all the characters back together a third time, which isn’t easy. However, I have to admit that it did feel as though Marvel had hit its fatigue point, which is why, at this particular juncture, I’m not that excited to see the fourth instalment of Avengers, though I’ll most likely watch it, regardless.

I found myself being entertained by some scenes, & bored by others. In addition, I found the visual effects to be rather shaky, & lacking clear, crisp shots.

I also didn’t really understand why many fans talked up Thanos beating up Hulk — they made it seem like this massive epic fight scene, & it didn’t really live up to their hype. If they were talking about Hulk not wanting to come out to fight because they thought he was “scared,” then I don’t think the movie even necessarily portrayed that to be the case. To me, it looked more like Hulk was annoyed because everyone only wanted him to come out during fights. This was evident when Hulk went rogue in Avengers: Age of Ultron, & wouldn’t cooperate with Bruce Banner in Thor: Ragnarok, & I saw his behaviour in this movie as a continuation of that.

I felt that the humour in this movie was too much in several scenes, which killed the flow of the movie like it did in several of the other movies in the Marvel Universe (like Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Spider-Man: Homecoming, & Thor: Ragnarok). I’m still not a fan of Tom Holland’s version of Spider-Man; I really think that if they’d linked Avengers: Infinity War to Tobey Maguire's version, I’d be much more satisfied, because Peter Parker as an immature high-schooler with different friends really isn't working for me.

The movie had a lot of hidden undertones, the most obvious being population control. Thanos was correct about mankind being out of balance, but he wrong about wanting to wipe out the majority of the population. I also caught the fake alien invasion propaganda, mixed with product placements from companies funding both agendas.

My favourite scene was when Wakanda was protected by the dome of the flat Earth, which I could get into a very long discussion about, but that’s for another time.

I agree with my friend Miguel that it’s going to be interesting to see how Iron Man finds his way back to Earth. I also think it’ll be interesting to see how Iron Man will respond when Pepper Potts finally breaks the news that she’s actually pregnant (which they hinted at during several parts of the movie).

& finally, we all know that the Avengers are going to somehow get their hands on the time stone & bring everyone back who died, so I suppose that’s my incentive to watch the next few movies.

54422.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @alphaaquarius! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65805.01
ETH 3514.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47