Book Review Roundup - Economics and Philosophy, 23rd SeptembersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #review6 years ago

Here is a quick run-down of the 4 latest books I've read and reviewed in my mission to build up my personal library. I'm also sharing my reviews. If you have any suggestions to books I should read, please leave a comment! What do you think about this selection? 


"Economics in One Lesson" - Henry Hazlitt [My Review Here]

This is one of the books that made me think "Why didn't I read this earlier?". It was such a joy to read it and made me add more Hazlitt-authored books to my To-Read-Pile.  This is one of those books that open up your mind and is a great one to beginners guide to modern economics, written clearly and without going too deep  - opting instead to tie concepts together for a wholesome experience.


"Democracy: The God That Failed" - Hans-Herman Hoppe [My Review Here]

One of the most iconic books about modern libertarian/anarcho-capitalism views by Dr. Hoppe that still has made the right-wing liberty minded people split, for that alone its worth a read. Filled to the brim with footnotes that reference other thinkers and books - I will revisit this book after reading the literature referenced to get the full scope. As a stand-alone its spicy and there is so much food for thought packed inside. Only downside is that its very repetitive after a while.


"Karl Marx and the Close of his System" - Eugen Böhm-Bawerk [My Review Here]

Böhm-Bawerk isn't talked about too much by the Austrian School economists, but this book is an important piece to have read if you are interested in the conflict of "Marxism versus Classical Economists", as it is the benchmark for critiquing Karl Marx's economical model. If you have no interest whatsoever about that, this book is skippable.


"The Conquest of Bread" - Peter Kropotkin [My Review Here]

Most often referred to as "the bread book", is somewhat of a bible for parts of the anarcho-communist community (used as guidance by the Mexican Revolutionaries, among others).  I wrote a piece on my beef with one of the main concepts presented in the book, 'Common Inheritance', but the book itself is a solid piece of literature - Very artistically written. 


--- Alex Utopium

Find me here:

[Steemit] [Minds] [Twitter] [Blog]

Sort:  

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,500 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW, via the share button on your Steemit post!!!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Leadership/Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

@alex.utopium, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!

Congratulations @alex.utopium! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01