JTR Speakers - Noesis 212HT Loudspeaker Review

in #review7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit,

Yesterday I reviewed the Orbit Shifter LFU subwoofer from JTR Speakers. Apparently my post isn't getting any traction, since I didn't realize the importance of getting the main tag right the first time! Here it is if you want to read it: https://steemit.com/subwoofer/@akhenkheires/jtr-speakers-orbit-shifter-lfu-subwoofer-review-and-other-notes

Today I'll be reviewing the Noesis 212HTs (webpage here: http://jtrspeakers.com/noesis-212ht.html ), which I use as mains along with the Orbit Shifter for a 2.1 setup.

Originally I wasn't intending on purchasing speakers with a horn-loaded design. I got some horn-loaded Klipsch speakers when I was around 12, and while I thought they were amazing when I got them, I now realize they sound harsh. I thought all horn-loaded designs suffered from this issue, but eventually I came to understand that JTR's Noesis line isn't in the same league. JTR uses quality German BMS compression drivers for the higher frequencies. These drivers are amazing, and provide all the difference.

Just a quick description; most speakers you've seen are probably front-loaded, with the drivers visible on the outside of the cabinet (if the grill's removed), and don't use a horn. A horn-loaded cabinet houses a compression driver that sits at the base of the horn. Here's an article I found on speaker cabinet differences: https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/differences-between-front-loaded-horn-loaded-speaker-cabinets

And here's a short blurb on compression drivers: https://www.sweetwater.com/insync/compression-driver and a graphic of a compression driver attached to a horn:

In 2013, the year after I got the Orbit Shifter, I had enough money saved up to start looking for main speakers. I was looking at speakers that weren't very efficient ("efficient" meaning low wattage would produce big sound), but were supposed to sound crystal clear. They also weren't able to get very loud without distorting, so they wouldn't work all that well for home theater, i.e. watching movies, use. Someone, I think at http://www.avsforum.com suggested I look into JTR for the mains as well, especially since I already had the Orbit Shifter. I'm really glad I took that under advisement, because the Noesis line is almost perfect, and is designed to pair with JTR subs.

Here are the characteristics that set this speaker line apart from almost anything else.

  1. They are very efficient. The sensitivity is listed as 101 dBs. This means that when you feed the speaker 1 watt, the SPL (sound pressure level) at 1 meter away will be 101 decibels. These are probably the most efficient speakers I looked at when I was comparing everything.

  2. They sound crystal clear at any volume with no distortion, and despite the horn, they aren't harsh like the Klipschs I mentioned above. Usually it's hard to get a speaker to sound good at both low and high volumes. Speakers designed primarily for music can sound very good at lower volumes, but may not be able to handle the dynamics you need for home theater. Likewise, speakers that can be turned up to 11 often don't provide the clarity that other speakers do. These do everything well. Also, some speakers can sound clear, but can start to feel harsh on the eardrums, especially over time. I feel like you could listen to these pretty much all day and be fine.

  3. They can hit ridiculously high SPLs, again with no distortion. The usable output is 134 dBs. For probably any home audio room, it would be ridiculous to sustain that level of sound for any length of time. Mind your eardrums! Tinnitus is a bitch.

As mentioned previously, the Noesis 212HTs I got are made to pair with JTR subwoofers like the Orbit Shifter LFU, and in fact you need a sub to effectively use these speakers. The frequency range is 60Hz-20kHz, so the sub is necessary for information below 60 Hz. I set the crossover point to 80 Hz. I think JTR does make full-range speakers now if you're looking for those. If I remember correctly, I read they're very good, but I haven't auditioned them myself.

Some notes; the 212HTs I have use a metal horn. The newer ones have a wooden horn. I haven't done a shootout between the two, so I can't comment on the practical differences. The warranty is for 5 years, a good chunk of time. And there's a mistake on the webpage. The description right under the title is for the 228HTs, so that's incorrect. I believe everything under "Specifications" and "Features" is correct though.

There are probably a few more details I could include, like the nice big binding posts they have etc., but I think I'll end it here. If you're in the market for home audio speakers (or pro audio speakers), I highly recommend checking out JTR's products. Maybe there'd be somebody in your area who could let you audition some. http://www.avsforum.com would be a good place to check.

Hope you enjoyed this review!

Till next time,

AK

EDIT:

I thought I'd add something at the end here. Below is a video of somebody showing how efficient these speakers are by powering them at reference levels with a 20 watt amp. I remember watching this video before I made my purchase, and being very impressed.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by AkhenKheires from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56