Beginning the Swim

in #reverse6 years ago

Hey Steemit friends,
One year ago I tried and failed to swim to Alcatraz Island. I was bold and reckless and thought I could swim 2 miles with little to no training, and the Bay spit me out and threw me back to shore.

Today was the first time I stepped into the waters at the SF aquatic park since and it was chilly. I’m swimming to Alcatraz again on 1/1/19- this time w the right training. The journey is called #Swim2Regenerate: Reverse Climate Change by 2060. By switching our food and clothing to carbon negative choices, and eliminating the fossil fuel industry within a decade, we can restore atmospheric CO2 back to 1860s levels. We can stand together and unify around this challenge; humanity is greater than the news will have us believe. There is nothing we cannot do when united; I believe in Us. #restore #replenish #regenerate

Want to help with the journey? Can you kayak around the island with me and possibly other swimmers, with a life jacket and buoy to make sure we are safe (you don't need to be a lifeguard.) Let's do this together.

alcatraz training selfie.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @jon.connors! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jon.connors! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76