Space Harrier II Turns 28 Years Old on the Sega Genesis

in #retrogaming7 years ago (edited)

While not the first title to feature 3D "endless" running gameplay, Space Harrier II is the first to feature it on the Sega Genesis. Sega was eager to show off the power of their newly launched console and what better way to do that than with a title that would be severely limited on the Nintendo Entertainment System? Space Harrier II, as the title suggests, is a sequel, the first for the Sega Genesis.

The Genesis was not perfect at scaling objects on screen but it was better at it than the Nintendo NES and that is probably one reason Sega chose it as a launch title. Space Harrier II did a decent job, for the time, at performing though it has not aged well at all. Just look at the video below for proof of that.

The unique perspective changed depending on whether you were running across the land or performing a long jump. This slight change in the view adds quite a bit of depth to the overall game and adds a bit more strategy in avoiding or killing enemies.

Space Harrier II is an unforgiving title, one hit and you are dead, though you get a few "lives" to burn through before it is game over. Avoiding huge obstacles like columns along with smaller things like trees and rocks while shooting down, or avoiding, enemies will test the mettle of many a gamer. With 12 levels it is going to be a battle to the death (the end boss' demise or your patience).

256px-SegaGenesis-SpaceHarrier2Cover

Space Harrier II has seen a re-release on the Nintendo Wii Virtual Console and over the years has been ported to nearly every computer available.

For your copy of Space Harrier II we have collected some links below:

Amazon

Ebay
iTunes
Wii Virtual Console
Windows (
Steam, Gamersgate)
DotEmu

Sort:  

And another one. This I enjoyed both in the arcades and on my Megadrive. Such simple fun. Man, the amount of good times...

This was my first taste of 3D "into the screen" shooters and I was hooked. Did you know they released a VERY limited edition on the 32X in Canada? I hear it is a much better port.

Nope, didn't know about that one. I never had a 32X nor a Mega CD so even though I was huge into Megadrive for about five years, there were a lot of games I never got to experience. Like everyone else, thanks to emulators "I'll play them all when I'm retired"! :D

It is one of those "holy grails" for collectors as less than 5,000 copies were made (I think it is close to 4,500 copies).

Nice post
I upvoted you, please lock up my post too and dont forget to upvote me @iqbalmaulana

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51